Faith Of Our Fathers

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Text: Genesis 17:1-9

And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to
Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be
thou perfect.
And I will make my covenant between me and thee, and will multiply thee
exceedingly.
And Abram fell on his face: and God talked with him, saying,
As for me, behold, my covenant is with thee, and thou shalt be a father of
many nations.
Neither shall thy name any more be called Abram, but thy name shall be
Abraham; for a father of many nations have I made thee.
And I will make thee exceeding fruitful, and I will make nations of thee, and
kings shall come out of thee.
And I will establish my covenant between me and thee and thy seed after
thee in their generations for an everlasting covenant, to be a God unto thee,
and to thy seed after thee.
And I will give unto thee, and to thy seed after thee, the land wherein thou
art a stranger, all the land of Canaan, for an everlasting possession; and I will
be their God.
And God said unto Abraham, Thou shalt keep my covenant therefore, thou,
and thy seed after thee in their generations.

Abraham is reputed to be called one of the fathers of faith, if not the father of faith because of the exemplary conduct of faith he demonstrated before God.

download (1).jpeg
Source

At the age of 99 years God appeared to Abraham and established a covenant between Abraham and Himself. Since Abraham had implicit and explicit faith in God, he carried out his own part of the covenant, which was the circumcision of all male in his household, Abraham also demonstrated a rare faith when he accepted to sacrifice his only son in obedience to God's command.

Brethren and friends, when we sing today: “Abraham's blessings are mine ..... ”, are we ready to demonstrate Abraham-like faith?

God may not require us today to leave our country nor sacrifice our sons, but he does require us to leave our old man of sin. He requires from us a sacrificial life of holiness and service to Him.

As we claim Abraham blessings in the morning, in the noon and the evening, let us remember to demonstrate the faith of our fathers in line with our present dispensation.

Sort:  

Congratulations @earnestslain! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67