SteemChurch: What about "MY" Human Rights???

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2018-01-23-23-12-08-1.png

Keeping in mind the core values of The SteemChurch and using this platform to raise my voice, all thanks to @sirknight, here is my story:

Being brought up in a society where cousin marriage is just a normal thing, I never thought that one day for me, it won't be normal anymore.
When tieing a knot here, the views of the elders (grandparents and maternal aunts) and the "man" are always given priority or simply are considered "eternal" and final!
So I got a proposal from my cousin. And as the image above speaks volumes for itself, you all can guess my answer, 'NO'!
We talk about the rights of women, the freedom and liberty with which one can live their life. Then what happens to all this independence when it comes to decisions like these.
According to the elders of the house, I should be accepting the proposal since the "man" has shown interest in me. For them, him liking me is more important that me not liking him. If they can consider his feelings and intentions. Then why not mine?
Why should I be made the victim of this right deprivation where I do not get to make the most important decision of my life?
Why does it need to be finalised by those who have no concern or who will never have to deal with the consequences of this commitment?
If I don't find someone of mutual interests, someone who can't understand me or support my perspective then what is my fault?
Well, these are alot of questions for the moment!
This is just to show and make all of us realise that even after getting better education and so much exposure to the new open minded world. Some people like me still have to face gender discrimination.
Always give equal rights to your women!

Thanks for viewing the post. Please follow me @hinaimran

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75