Biblical Meditation

in #steemchurch6 years ago

DIFFERENT KIND OF MEDITATION

The false religions of the world—Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and the New Age to name a few—teach that meditation is emptying the mind to have spiritual experiences. This is their understanding of meditation.
images (3).jpeg
source

The Bible teaches us to meditate in a fundamentally different way—it directs us to meditate on the Word and wait on God. The Bible even tells us what to fill the mind with. In the Word there are five categories on which we are to meditate.

1. Meditate on Good Things

Many people suffer from various mental and emotional illnesses because they only meditate on bad and negative things. Proverbs 23:7 says, "For as [a man] thinks in his heart, so is he" (NKJV). We must choose what thoughts we entertain. Because our thoughts influence and change us, they can make or break us; they manifest as the life that we live.

"Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if. There is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy —meditate on these things" (Philippians 4:8 NKJV).
"Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord..." (Psalms 19:14 NKJV).

"May my meditation be sweet to Him; I will be glad in the Lord" (Psalms 10434 NKJV).

2. Meditate on the Word of God

The Bible is "God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good wore (2 Tim. 3:16-17). The importance of meditating on the Word is self ident to many of us. But for good measure, consider Joshua 1:8:

"Do not let this Book ofthe Law departfrom your mouth; meditate on it da and night, so thatyou may be careful to do everything written in it. Thenyou will beprosperous and successful."
One of my favorite books of the Bible is Proverbs. When I read it and speaks to me, I repeat it out loud several times. I ponder it, and I chew on it. I carry that verse in my heart and mind all day long. It becomes my bread for that day. The next day I open Proverbs again and pull out another piece of bread. If I find a way to incorporate that word for the day into a conversation with this helps me remember the verse for the future. The true value of Scripture memorization is in application.

images (4).jpeg
source

3. Meditate on Prophetic Words

There are many things that should be done with prophetic words: testing, judging, proving, warring with, praying over them, and walking them out. One aspect that seems to be under taught is that we should meditate upon our prophetic words. First Timothy 4:14-15 says, 'Do not neglect the gift that is in you, which given to
you by prophecy with the laying on of the hands of the eldership. Meditate on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all."

4. Meditate on the Lord Himself

"When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches" (Ps. 63:6). By keeping our mind focused on the Lord, we encourage our abiding relationship with Him. There are many ways to meditate on the Lord. One Of the most practical that I have found is focusing on the names of the Lord. Names equal nature, so by revealing His names to us, God has revealed His nature to us. IfHe
says that His name is, "Jehovah Rapha, the Lord our healer," then He is sharing with you that His nature is that of a healer.

Sort:  

Biblical meditation involves reflecting on profitable matters, such as God's qualities, norms, or creations. "I have meditated on all your activity; I willingly kept myself intensely interested in the work of your own hands "(Psalm 143: 5).

Your teaching is valuable to the community!

Resteem
EC
image(1).png

Good advice on meditation brother! There are delights in the word of God.

I encourage you to continue writing and commenting on the block chain!

Good reflection, @ iksilva, the Bible is clear and precise when clarifying: how, when and where we should meditate.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, community, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.

If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Shares - Curation Service

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55