The Place Of Forgiveness In The Kingdom

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

"Praise the Lord" the pastor said as soon as I stepped in. It seemed like they were waiting for me for the service to begin.
"Hallelujah" I responded as I took my seat very close to the Air condition. The last time I sat in a random position, I couldn't bear the heat as the sermon was dished out. It seemed like God has shown the pastor about me and he was continuously dishing out words that touched my soul, using my life as an example.

"The topic for today is forgiveness", he began and I immediately became uneasy. I started recalling all the people who wronged me. I had even vowed never to forgive them.
Was it Sarah, my best friend, who was sleeping with my Boyfriend at my back but would come and smile with me, while telling lies about me to him.

image.png
Image Source

Was it Zara who I helped with the last cash on me so she could pay her debt and because I wore her new shoes to church without telling her because she was still asleep. She didn't even wait for me to get inside, at the gate, she had already started raining abuses on me. Told everyone that I stole it and I became the laughing stock for a whole week.

The list goes on but I decided to stop thinking about it and listen to what the pastor had to say instead.

He had already said so much while I was lost in thoughts and I guessed he was talking about the benefits of forgiveness as I heard him say number 1, and I immediately made to jot down some things.

1. Peace of mind

When you hold someone in your heart, refusing to forgive them, you lose your Peace of mind. Because you are always grieved when the thought of that person comes to mind.

2. Sound Sleep

Without Peace of mind, you cannot have sound sleep. Your sleep is stolen from you when you refuse to forgive the one who hurt you.

3. Access to God's Love

If you forgive others the wrongs they have done to you, your Father in heaven will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive the wrongs you have done. (Matthew 6:14-15)
You cannot hold grudges against someone and expect God to forgive you.
You have access to God's love when you forgive someone.

Does it mean I have to forgive all those who have hurt me?
I asked myself, lost in thought again 🤔

The Lord will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.”
Deuteronomy 3:22

I heard the pastor say again and ended the sermon.
Damn, I missed the other points mentioned.
Nonetheless, I got something worthwhile.

I was going to go home and forgive sincerely from my heart those I hold grudges against.

Are you still holding something against someone? You're doing yourself more harm than good not letting go of the hurt/pain you feel. Forgive, so you can heal.

Cheers

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has been featured on Steembees Weekly Curation
Thanks for creating valuable content and using the #steembees tag.

Have a taste of Our Honey 🐝🐝

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73