The Lord My Shepherd (Bible Study on the many Names and Titles of the Same God)

Psa 23:1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

This is one of the Psalms that will lift you when you feel alone or lose hope

“The Lord is My Shepherd

My first thought here again is that David did not see God as a Shepherd, but as His Own “MY” Shepherd.

C5BCCF5F-801B-48EF-9BE1-84FE57152B03.jpeg

This Psalm is short so I will post the entire psalm. Each verse is another promise of God’s care for His Own.

The Lord Is My Shepherd
Psa 23:1 A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
Psa 23:2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
Psa 23:3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake.
Psa 23:4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
Psa 23:5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
Psa 23:6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Original Language using Strongs Concordance

Lord Hebrew Yahweh

H3068 (Strong)
יְהֹוָה
yehôvâh
yeh-ho-vaw'
From H1961; (the) self Existent or eternal; Jehovah, Jewish national name of God: - Jehovah, the Lord. Compare H3050, H3069.
Total KJV occurrences: 6521

Shepherd

H7462 (Strong)
רָעָה
râ‛âh
raw-aw'
A primitive root; to tend a flock, that is, pasture it; intransitively to graze (literally or figuratively); generally to rule; by extension to associate with (as a friend): - X break, companion, keep company with, devour, eat up, evil entreat, feed, use as a friend, make friendship with, herdman, keep [sheep] (-er), pastor, + shearing house, shepherd, wander, waste.
Total KJV occurrences: 171

Shepherd is also the Word where we get Pastor

JEHOVÁ es mi pastor; nada me faltará

Tagalog AB) Ang Panginoon ay aking pastor; hindi ako mangangailangan.

Cebuano) Si Jehova mao ang akong magbalantay; Walay makulang kanako.

My favorite Gospel music singer/writer Keith Green

Thank you for stopping by and joining me in my cyber living room to study the Bible
Blessings!
Daddy William
F6D00801-A573-4A9E-9C19-4E4DBCB55CE3.jpeg
All proceeds from this account will be used to benefit the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries

Sort:  

Beautiful Mr Green!

here is one of my favorite songs and versions. Credits to John Newton. crank the sound up!

Hi, @mhm-philippines!

You just got a 32.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94