When is Enough, Enough?

I am sharing a few photos that I took over the past few days. Along with the photos, I would like to share a few thoughts from the perspective of a missionary in a foreign land.

My background is engineering and my annual salary was in the six figures US Dollars. My wife also had a job and was working for one of the foremost Hospitals in the USA. Matching funds, health care. We had a big house and two new cars.

With my job and ministry I have had the privilege to visit 36 countries! I had an annual budget with my company of $3,500,000.

Living The Dream

In my travels I went to some very poor third world countries. I noticed the people who were truly happy were not the people who had everything. It was the people who had everything that counts that were the most happy.

True Riches
  1. Faith in God
  2. Family
  3. Friends

Sometimes we can get so incredibly busy and miss all three of these. Our work should have a goal of spending time with the three best things in life.

449E5824-5773-420D-A51B-835549BFB64C.jpeg

I remember walking through a home in Bulgaria. The owner is a friend of mine and he was showing me his home. He had a big smile and was thankful for the blessings he had. The home was small and not very beautiful by many standards. Three generations were living together here. They all contributed upkeep and daily duties of the household. This man was beaming like sunshine ear to ear! There was joy in his voice as he toured me through his place.

His name is Kiril and he had full possession of the things that really matter!
Faith in God, family and friends!

In the past, I have worked, sometimes 7 days a week and even 16 plus hours per day. “Making a living for my family”.

But do you really want to know the truth! What our families want is time with their dad. Quality time! Our time is a very valuable commodity! How we spend it is crucial! Our time is limited. The best investment of our time is.
God, Family and Friends!

040953E8-B645-463D-92F5-628617285104.jpeg

When I turned 50 I was looking at my life and making an assessment based on these three priorities.

My prayer changed to, “Lord, I want the balance of my life to be in service to You and to make a difference in the lives of other people. 100% of what I have, including my time, I give to you!

I realized I had enough! Enough was enough for me! I have traveled to 36 countries, eaten in the finest restaurants of the world. No exaggeration! The best of the best! Stayed in some of the nicest hotels and resorts.

Some would say, why don’t your keep working and send the money to the people in need. My wife and I were already sending over 30% to help missions. The problem is many are scams and many of the organizations are spending most of the funds on overhead.

And the main point with me is the three most important things.
Faith in God, Family and Friends!

For me there is a 4th priority!

Service to others!

7th grade students I spent a few hours with yesterday.
57784A28-DAA2-4B3A-BB00-68EA9EB038FF.jpeg

If you could listen to the concerns of these beautiful children, it would break your heart!
The number one concern of these kids is if they will be able to finish their education.

Have you ever had to live without a spoon, fork, water glass, or bowl?

Have your ever spent the entire night without food the previous day?
Have you ever, as a child had no clothing or a place to take a bath?

You see, I see these conditions all of the time,

I have had enough for me! Enough is Enough!
But with everything that is within me, I will find a way to help these people.

At the very same time I am not going to neglect the other three!
We have already sold all and invested it here in the Philippines!
We have already spent over 4 years living in a foreign land. I have no intention to return or back away from this great cause.

876D996C-4D06-424C-BCF6-38684F1B7A63.jpeg

To give people who have lost hope.

We live simple lives! No extravagance. Simple basic lives!

I am grateful for this platform and community as we are already taking. Some Steem and investing it in food and clothing. 100% of what this blog generates, will be used to meet the needs and benefit the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries.

I am completely satisfied with what I already have. Faith in God, Family, Friends and God’s Work in service to others.

Spending time with my family.
C145B5CE-D34A-495F-836E-C39A62E4EBCC.jpeg

293839E8-C8ED-4375-81F1-0D692AD8DE68.jpeg

My mom and dad were not wealthy and by the opinion of many we were poor. We always had food, clothing and love. So we were not really that poor.

When I die, I want my kids to remember my cologne, generosity, faith in God, love for my family and love for others.

For me, this is true success! To leave behind a generation that will do the same and even more.

Thank you for your time.
The ramblings and thoughts of a missionary.
Daddy William

A536453D-4365-49C6-A01B-9385B11A33C4.jpeg

All proceeds from this account will be used to help the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries!

Sort:  

Hi Brave Missionary!

There are many obligations and bustle of modern life, this sometimes causes parents not have large amounts of time to devote to their children, however, you are right to say that the true wealth is to share with God, family and friends.

Logopit_1538700831743.png

Amen! Thanks for stopping by and for your comments! Blesssings!

Excellent testimony! I also think that those with very little have a greater faith in God!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend!

Thank you!

Great thoughts brother. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to you and your family and all that you are doing in the Philippines.

Thank you brother! Eternal rewards! Rewards that last for an eternity! Hard to wrap our minds around this. God bless you and your beautiful family!

Thanks. Yes, difficult to wrap our minds around anything eternal, let alone eternal rewards. But it’s encouraging to meditate upon this.

thankyou! god bless and keep sending pics/ stories.

Thank you my friend!

So blessed with your testimony... God bless you. The Filipinos are blessed to have you in the land.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I am the one who feels blessed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87