STEEMCHURCH: THE EVIDENCE OF FOLLOWERSHIP.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemchurch5 years ago

THE EVIDENCE OF FOLLOWERSHIP.

BIBLE TEXT: JOHN 13:35

"By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another."

A wonderful day to you my beloved friends! Hope you are good?

I once used this as an illustration sometime last year.
How many of us have seen the movie "planet of the apes"? I'm not sure I got the title correctly though.

This movie talks about an ape which was raised domestically as a pet. For many years of his life, he lived in a house and never was allowed to leave or mingle with other apes in the jungle.
Thus, after a while, he then found himself in the midst of other apes in the jungle. He couldn't behave like them, he couldn't really exhibit the jungle-ape traits as he ought to because he had already gotten accustomed to being a pet just as he was raised.

Beloved, who you follow determines 99% of the traits you exhibit. There are no two ways round it.
An animal raised domestically will certainly find it difficult acting like a wild animal even when in the midst of them.

In John 13, Jesus portrayed the characteristics of a servant-leader. He knew it was time to leave, yet He felt a deep love for those He would be leaving behind. After washing his disciples feet, His instruction in verse 34&35 was "love one another". He further explained, this is the only way to show people we are actually following him. To show we have dined with the Master.

The Christian life is not one with theoretical teachings, but practical application.
How do you know if I'm truly a disciple of Christ as I claim? If truly I'm a Christian as I claim?

It's simple! It should be evident in the way I talk to other people, how I treat not just friends, family, but even strangers.

Some of us cannot even stand a stranger badging into us, or stepping on our foot, we would have started raining all sort of insults before the person even gets the chance to apologize.
I'm not sorry to say, But that's not how to show us you have been following Jesus.

Some of us are very impatient, we can't allow the other party explain him or herself, we would have spilled hundreds of words.
I'm sorry but, if that's how you show us you are a follower of Christ, we won't believe you!

1 Corinthians 13 explains how we should show love to one another. How we can be living proof and factual evidence of Who we follow.

I pray today, that the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Truth shed Christ's love abroad our heart afresh(Romans 5:5). That we become a walking message of the gospel of Jesus. Amen.
Remain blessed like you've always been.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00