You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hidden people

in #steemchurch6 years ago

What a absolutely wonderful and heartfelt story, it was filled with all of life's emotions with a subtle hint of humor, very well done descriptively and touching. Last week I went to one of our larger retailers, I realized after I walked in the door I was really hungry so I decided to get a six inch sub from Subway inside before shopping. I sat there looking into the store with all the fruits and vegetables stacked up and shoppers scurrying about. All I could think about was people sitting in camps surrounded by mud with tarps over there heads. The disparity was overwhelming. I actually felt guilty eating the sandwich. How can we be so far apart in our reality...it's been bothering me a lot lately. I found the same thing going on inside this month being at chuckee cheese's celebrating two grand kids birthdays, I am looking out over the crowd watching all the joy and happiness and feeling guilty inside. All the things I thought were so important seem less important and I really feel helpless to do anything about it. Being connected on the various blogs has really opened my eyes and I don't think I have come to know how to come to terms with it but I do feel it has made me more compassionate in my views.

Sort:  

It's been bothering me too. One of the problems is that these hidden people can be very hard to see! How can we be kind to them if they are hidden away? We have to make an effort...I feel very convicted that I do next to nothing to show a little kindness to the people who need it the most. As a follower of Jesus, I should do what He did while He was on earth, and let me tell you, he wasn't sitting on his behind watching TV (or the equivalent) like I am prone to do. I just thank God that I can be a tiny blessing to others, now and then. It's good to hear from a kindred spirit, so thank you for sharing your story!

There was interview on the news here one night, someone had called them and wanted to know if the apartment complex they lived in could make them throw out their furniture. Seems the complex had a problem with bedbugs they couldn't control so they mandated everybody throw out their furniture. The news went there and these people were showing them how they'd done everything the complex had asked prior which included wrapping all their furniture in plastic. It just makes you wonder about people who would so complicit as to wrap their couches, chairs and mattresses in plastic and live like that then to know they have people like housing inspectors who they should be calling. You or I'd be like what do you mean wrap everything up in plastic when you should be calling a different exterminator. Then when it doesn't solve the problem they call the news instead of housing inspectors to find out if legally they have a right to demand they throw everything out. So here's the news taping pictures of beaten up old furniture on it's last leg wrapped in plastic and people fighting to keep it. Oh boy, when you think you have it rough it's stuff like that that makes you realize it could be a whole lot worse. Like you said these are normally hidden people who escape our everyday thoughts.

That's incredible!!!! I have never heard of any such thing. Bedbugs - yeah, they happen...but to make you wrap everything in plastic? that's awful! Sad to see people so powerless.

To be realistic there's a chance that not only was the stuff wrapped in plastic but there may actually be bedbugs running around underneath the plastic somewhere. A bedbug that is fully engorged can survive up to eighteen months! I am not sure about smothering them though, I would assume they'd eventually run out of air...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69360.20
ETH 3674.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24