Mindful Of The Things Of God

in #steemchurch6 years ago

ROMANS 12:1-2

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

mindful.jpg
Source

In 2 Corinthians 4: 18, Paul indicates that he was able to set his focus upon spiritual things (the unseen) rather than worldly (the seen) things. But that was Paul we may say. He was, after all, an apostle. Surely he was special, and I can't be expected to be like that? However, I do not know if the fact that he was an apostle made him in some way superhuman in respect of this particular attribute. Thus, I don't think I can use it as an excuse to say that this is presenting to me, something which is impossible. I might think that the outward things, the things which are seen, lie too close to me. The visible things, which are always before my eyes, are just too much of a distraction. They are just too much “in my face” for me to see beyond them, so to speak. But is that really a valid reason for me to say that I cannot be mindful of things which at this moment are out of sight? '

If I am honest I must know that such a thing cannot be true, for there are often times that my own thoughts and ideas can absorb my mind even in the midst of the hustle and bustle of life. Therefore, if I am able to hold on those thoughts which derive from myself and which will often contain my own worldly personal wants and hopes, even amidst the noise of the world, why is it then harder for me to maintain thoughts which pertain to God; thoughts which pertain to truth and righteousness and of duty and love? These are all present realities, as is the person of Christ and His all sufficient sacrifice. We shall do well to keep Jesus Himself, always within the frame of our thoughts.

Sort:  

Thanks for contributing to the first church on the blockchain. We encourage interactions over here, we'll be delighted to see what you think about other posts on our tag. Have a great day ahead!

Upvoted & Resteemed
J8.

We should reflect Christ in every aspect of our life, we are an embodiment of glory, perfection, beauty and righteousness of Christ. Therefore, we should conduct ourselves and life accordingly.

We shouldn't just be mindful, we should learn to walk with God throughout the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62