CONTENTMENT

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Text: Philippians 4: 10-14

But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me
hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity.
Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state
I am, therewith to be content.
I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where
and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to
abound and to suffer need.
I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my
affliction.

To be content means to “rest satisfied, to be well pleased”. Webster says it is “freedom from care or discomfort." Our text for today was written by the apostle Paul while in prison. “Not that I speak in respect of want; for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content! But how could he be?

NHO-ml-front5.jpg
Source

Paul said, he had learned that contentment and happiness are not dependent on external circumstances, but on inner qualities of the heart, and upon a right relationship with God.

The same Paul, in his letter to Timothy says,” But godliness with contentment is a great gain. For we brought nothing into this world and it is certain we can carry nothing out...” (1Timothy 6: 6-8).

John while teaching the soidiers of his time said,”And be content with your wages...” (Luke 3:14). Such contentment would prevent them from intimidating others and faiseiy accusing them because of their low remuneration.

Friend, since the days that you have been involving in sharp practices and collecting 'toll' on the road, have you got enough? It can't be a blessing from God if you got it through fraudulent means. God's blessings bring no sorrow, it is comforting, it brings peace of mind, it is eternal.

Sort:  

How rare is "contentment" a subject? G-dliness with contentment is a great way to pursue happiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50