The Path Of Life

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Text: Psalm 16: 1-11

Preserve me, O God: for in thee do I put my trust.
O my soul, thou hast said unto the LORD, Thou art my Lord: my goodness
extendeth not to thee;
But to the saints that are in the earth, and to the excellent, in whom is all
my delight.
Their sorrows shall be multiplied that hasten after another god: their drink
offerings of blood will I not offer, nor take up their names into my lips.
The LORD is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou
maintainest my lot.
The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage.
I will bless the LORD, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me
in the night seasons.
I have set the LORD always before me: because he is at my right hand, I
shall not be moved.
Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in
hope.
For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy
One to see corruption.
Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at
thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

images (28).jpeg
Source

This psalm of David is one that is laden with many of God's goodness and blessings that would gladden the heart and make one rest in hope. First, is to recognise that these goodness and blessing comes from God. ‘... You are my Lord; my goodness is nothing apart from You” (vs 2). He is the source and fountain of all blessings. Then we see the vanity and sorrow that follow seeking blessing by ungodly means or idolatry. “Their sorrow shall be multiplied who hasten after another god...” (vs 4). Verses 7 & 8 show us how to obtain these blessings; by taking counsel and instructions from the Lord, let Him lead us to path of life and righteousness. If we obey His commands, He will show us the path of life, the essence of life and the way to a fulfilling life; different from mere earthly existence.

In God's presence is fullness of joy, not the earthly joy, but the joy of salvation brought about by knowing the will of God and doing it. The joy that we are doing what God wants, the way He wants it. At God's right hand are pleasures forever more. This is the sustenance and continuity of all these goodness and blessings in the Lord. What we consider as pleasures here on earth are for a moment, but the ones at God‘s right hand are pleasures for evermore. As We seek God's will and obey continuously, His blessings will flow upon us ceaselessly. Beloved, let us come to the presence of the Lord in praise, prayer, obedience, godly life and for these blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71