A great bosanova

in #steemclassics6 years ago (edited)

The famous Brazilian The girl from Ipanema has been one of my favorite melodies for as long as I can remember. I was only 3 years old when it was written and 6 when it won a Grammy Award. The song has practically been a life time on my ears. Every time I hear this song, the lyrics and the melody lead me to stop and listen. It's something about the words and the mix between Spanish and English that set me in a good mood and make me listen carefully. It's also about the seductive rhythm bosanova directing me into a dance mood. I wish I knew how to dance bosanova!

Thank you @mightpossibly for launching #steemclassics
Please share your favorite classics

Lots of artists have performed this song, also the superb singer Frank Sinatra. Nevertheless, my favorite version is the one of Andy Williams & Antonio Carlos Jobim.

"Garota de Ipanema" ("The Girl from Ipanema") is a Brazilian bossa nova jazz song. It was a worldwide hit in the mid-1960s and won a Grammy for Record of the Year in 1965. It was written in 1962, with music by Antônio Carlos Jobim and Portuguese lyrics by Vinicius de Moraes. English lyrics were written later by Norman Gimbel. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Girl_from_Ipanema


The Girl from Ipanema

Tall and tan and young and lovely
The girl from Ipanema goes walking and
When she passes, each one she passes goes
When she walks, she's like a samba
That swings so cool and sways so gentle that
When she passes, each one she passes goes
But I watch her so sadly
How can I tell her, "I love you?"
Yes, I would give my heart gladly
But each day, when she walks to the sea
She looks straight ahead, not at me
Tall and tan and young and lovely
The girl from Ipanema goes walking and
When she passes, I smile but she doesn't see, doesn't see
Olha que coisa mais linda mais cheia de graça
ela menina que vem e que passa
Num doce balanço a caminho do mar
Moça do corpo dourado do sol de ipanema
O seu balançado mais que um poema
a coisa mais linda que eu j vi passar..
But I watch her so sadly
Porque tudo to triste
Yes, I would give my heart gladly
But each day, when she walks to the sea
She looks straight ahead, not at me
Tall and tan and young and lovely
The girl from ipanema goes walking
And when she passes, I smile but she doesn't see
Por causa do amor
She just doesn't see
Nem olha para mim
She never sees me
Por causa do amor

Song writers: Antonio Carlos Jobim / David John Gledhill
The Girl from Ipanema© BMG Rights Management US, LLC
--
Enjoy the music :-)

@kristihh

Sort:  

What a beautiful song! I haven't given much attention to Bossa Nova music previously in my life, but I am familiar with it and I've always liked it. I think what I like the most about the style is the "easy" and playful syncopated rhythms. I have heard this song before, but I never knew the name of it. Now I can finally add it to my playlist :)

Thank you for sharing, and thank you for posting in #steemclassics!

Thank you @mightpossibly for your comment. And for reminding me about another quality; the genre’s - and this particular song’s playfulness.

I discovered a song yesterday that sort of reminds me of this one, although it's a completely different genre. The same feeling of playfulness perhaps. Feel free to give it a listen if you find the time:)

Thank you for sharing. Yes, it’s definitely some similarities. I recognize the playfulness. And the breeze in the background makes me think about surfing and happy days at the beach :)

Glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73