How Can A High Frequency Poster Be Determined?

in #steemcleaners7 years ago (edited)



                                   

In steemit, there are some very good authors, whom I like read, curate and follow their posts. In fact, they are on my steemvoter list, so that I don't get to miss any of their posts. However, I first noticed immediately after hard fork 19 that a steemian with very high reputation (70 +) and  loads of steem power (SP), posted not less that 15 times within a space of 24 hours. Since I wouldn't want to mention names, I would use this badge below to illustrate how highly placed these people are in steemit. 

 I saw my voting power that day reduce to less than 50%. I couldn't figure out what the problem was when I checked. The only thing that came to my mind that day was that someone was stealing my votes. I cried out for help through a post. Later, many kind Steemians rallied round me to assist. It was discovered that this person in question was on my voter list, which I set to vote  at 100% before the hard fork. I had to quickly adjust the weight of my votes for everyone on my list, since those votes were draining my voting power.  Fast forward to this week.

Posting Five Times A Day

 I have noticed again since the start of this week that some Steemians with 70+ reputation, with relatively high steem power (SP) are posting as much as five times within a 24 hour period. The understanding is there that these very well meaning veteran Steemians are doing this to help those of us who are fairly new (less than 6 months) in the steemit ecosystem. For that, I am very grateful. A blog post of @steemcleaners titled- Tag Spam and High Frequency Posting Guide,  caught my attention  regarding frequent posting of content on steemit. 

                                   

The post does not really state in numbers how often one person can post in a day for it to be considered as high frequency posting. This has raised a question which I would like to pose. My question to @steemcleaners and every member of this amazing community is this. Is it okay for me or any other Steemian to post 5 times a day, within 24 hours? 


Image source 1,2,3

Please, good and honest answers to these questions would be highly appreciated. 


How often on the average do you post in a 24 hour period? Feel free to share your thoughts. 


Please, reblog/resteem and upvote  this post. 


Follow @maryfavour


Thanks for taking time to read!



Sort:  

Personally, i will not support the idea of someone posting more than 3 times in 24hrs fro several reasons....

One; what more constitutes spam if not excessive posting? That's simply grand spamming to me...and by the way how can such post be helpful to newbies. I think this argument of helping newbies through such post does not have any logical bases.

Two; posting more than five times in a day is a precursor to churning out intellectual garbages. This is because i understand the amount of time it takes to prepare a very good article; just one ooo! So how much more when you are to write more than one?

Three, i consider this as someone being blindly overambitious and greedy. How can someone with rep score of 70+ be posting more than 5 times in a day and posit he is helping newbies? His numerous posts will just overshadow those of newbies. This is because a typical steemian, when presented with two separately authored articles to choose...one by a 70+ rep steemian and the other a <30 rep steemian...the person will most likely go for the article written by a 70+ rep steemian no matter the number of times the 70+ steamian must have posted articles on that particular day. Under this circumstance, how do you expect the new steemian to succeed. This is just being greedy

I can keep on reeling out more reasons, but i think the instances above aptly captured my stance regarding the subject of discourse.

I think your question as regarding this subject is very timely. It will really go a long way, by the time it is debated upon, to help people find out the reasons for and against that, and take a position.

@eurogee

One man's food is another's poison...

You can post as much as you like provided that you have some zombies that will keep upvoting your multiple posts. However, there is no moral justification as to the number of times you can vote that is why you see the THE FLAG PHENOMENON to check mate how much goes out of the reward pool to a particular user in a period.

I like your perspective to a great extent, @steem-lagos. It might not really be possible to apply /use THE FLAG PHENOMENON on Steemians with reputation 70+ . That account might get nuked outrightly, especially if it an account below 40.

Very true, have seen some try that and leads to his folly.

A 52 rep going against 70, i just laughed and drank water on top of it!

I am glad that are here, @eurogee. My views regarding posting frequency align better with yours. Posting more than 3 times a day, even with good intentions, in my opinion, is a bit more on the high posting frequency side. I absolutely agree with your 3 solid views that firstly, such posts may be considered as spam. Secondly, posts will be of low quality. I can relate to that. Literally, it takes me hours to create almost all of the content on my posts that you see. Thirdly and unfortunately, such persons with rep 70+ will be viewed as greedy, leaving very little in the reward pool for newbies. Thank you so much for your time and invaluable contribution. Steem on!

You are welcome

You raised some interesting points in this post. Very high frequency of posting and resteeming could be annoying for some people.
It is difficult to give a number for that. The important thing to consider if the posts involved quality material.

Usually I publish 3 or less posts per day, plus some occasional resteemed posts.

However people participating in different contests, e.g. photography contents, could increase the number of posts per day. But as I wrote before, the important thing to consider is the quality of the material posted!

Glad to see you here, @nenio. Feedback from this post makes me understand that high frequency posting is relative and totally unacceptable by fellow Steemians. Secondly, people value quality over quantity. Limiting posting frequency to 3 times a day or less might be a better way to go with some occassional resteemed posts. Participating in contests is something to consider as well when Great response, @nenio! I really appreciate it. Thank you. Steem on!!!

This post contains serious questions that needs to be debated on but personally i believe in individual difference .Thanks for sharing, upvoted and rebloged.

Yes, @oluwatobiloba. The questions are serious and debatable. Individual differences are there like you rightly believe in. However, if such people whom I respect so much and look up to are posting 5 times a day, then I'll reconsider and readjust my little stake weighted votes for them. Thanks for your comment, contribution, upvote and reblog. Keep steeming !!!

Hello @maryfavour! I think you have noticed that I post only once a day, it is rare that I will make 2 posts in 24 hours! By posting one quality post I really feel my followers will better appreciate it and will look forward to my daily post! I just hate seeing people posting many times a day, and most of the time no value post!
I also unfollow all those posting many times a day as I am just interested in reading quality post where I learn something new! I love having a good looking home feed!
It would be great if there was a feature restricting users to make several posts per day! This would be very beneficial to everyone on the platform and help reduce spammers and plagiarism!
Thank you
@progressivechef

Hello @progressivechef! Yes, I have noticed that you post once a day. One quality posts a day is finitely better than 100 low quality ones. A very important issue that you have raised here is that of unfollowing high frequency posters. The second is that such posts are considered as spam because of the high frequency . Thanks a lot for sharing your perspectives on this issue of high frequency posting. I really appreciate them. Cheers.

This is a good question. Initially, i thought once a day is ideal but after calving out my niche, i realized that is not possible. Quality as against quantity should be the driven force. Once a day is okay for me.

Solid reason..i am even finding it difficult to post one article because of the nature if my business. I mostly comment on peoples posts, however.

It's true, @eurogee. Some businesses will allow you the needed time to attend to steemit business. That strategy of commenting on people's post is even the best, because more and more people will get t know you. Steem on!

I'm happy that you are here, @smyle to share your perspective on this issue of high frequency posting. I like the twist of calving out one's niche that you've added. This is really key, especially for newbies. For instance, after blogging on this platform consistently for about 5 months, veteran Steemians now know my niche (public health, food & nutrition, travel, singing & dancing sometimes). Yes, I very much agree with you that quality as against quantity should be the driving force. Thanks for your contribution. Steem on!!!

well mary, I post about 4 times daily. You don't post very often.. but you are generally self made. So I know you are more quality as opposed to quantity. I'm a mix of both :)

Nice to have you here, @bearbear613! It's quite interesting for me to know that you post 4 times daily. You are correct that I don't post very often and focus more on quality than quantity. Well, I have a tough time, in my tight schedule, responding to almost all comments that usually trail my blog post. Second main reason is that I like to somehow reward anyone who constructively comment on my post. Granted, I don't have to do that. However, that is my own way of showing appreciation for the time people take to read the content of my post and then comment on it. I guess your mixed style is better.

that's why I consistently READ what you post. I know you take care of those who curate.

Aaaaaaw, thanks a million for consistently reading what I post! Your commendation means a lot to me, @bearbear613. That's true. I do my best to care for those who curate my content. Wish I had loads of steem power to do better. Anyway, hope that time will come soon. Cheers.

I generally wouldn't vote for anyone more than once per day (absolute maximum). Voting power is needed in so many other good places. If those people are on bots and getting auto-votes, I think they are doing a disservice by posting more frequently. But when there's money involved, it does take some self-restraint.

It's my great pleasure and honour to have you here, sir, @donkeypong! I totally understand and agree with your views. '' But when there's money involved, it does take some self-restraint.'' Unfortunately, sir, this is not the case with such people. Believe it or not, yesterday night again I had to adjust my voting weight downward for one of my favorite authors who posted 3 times within an hour. I was just watching everything on https://steemnow.com/ . Just like you've stated, voting power is needed in so many other good places. I sincerly appreciate your invaluable contribution and comment. Thank you and enjoy a wonderful weekend.

If they post that much they are just being silly, there is no limit, but many people who do curation and voting don't want to waste their power on someone who posts so often.

A visit from you is always an honour, @dragonslayer109. I appreciate your honest response to my question. Besides, I buy your view of many people not wanting to waste their power on someone who posts very often. Thanks and enjoy a lovely weekend.

Truthfully, nobody in their right mind does that. And if they happen to do, not all the post will get higher coverage because i for one will get tired of upvoting same person over and over in a day....

I believe that if @maryfavour did not experience it, she wouldn't have put it out in a post. Well, yes I agree that not all of the posts will get higher coverage. There is no manual curator who wouldn't get tired of curating the same person's post 5 time a day, leaving him/her with just 5 more times to use his/her full power votes. Remember that not everyone has the time to sit and manually vote on contents, that is why such persons chose to use steemvoter and/or streemian.

To gain the maximum value from posting, you should create FOUR high quality posts in 24 hours. After 4 the value of your posts goes down exponentially but never reaches zero.

I, personally, am trying to build Steem into my day job. Because of this, I have several posts queued at any time to keep up a steady 3-4 posts per day.

I haven't recognized anything similar to this, but you might be right. Sometimes my biggest upvotes have come after hours, sometimes even after 24h of the post being made.

I appreciate you reading my post and sharing your thoughts, @apsu. I agree with you to an extent that biggest upvote come sometimes after 24 hours. However, that is not the case most of the time. Best thing is to try to capture as much votes withing the first 24 hours. There is a post I wrote this week sitting there with just about $1 . Steem on!!!

Thanks @timeshiftarts for your response. So, for you 4 high quality posts a day are in order. Good to know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66936.87
ETH 3079.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66