My Suggestion : Stopping Plagiarism

in #steemcourt6 years ago (edited)

My sincere greetings to all parishioners and apostles of the @steemchurch, and also to the founder of this great community. I am so happy for latest initiative of the great @sirknight, which is the @steemcourt. This initiative as a matter of fact is a great deal for me. Now the @steemchurch would have rules and regulations to make it more accommodating to all.

image
source
First of all the main reason we all signed on steemit.com is to add value to the blockchain through our writing of quality and original post totally written ourselves, while we get rewarded or acknowledged by people and communities on the blockchain through upvotes and comments. This aim like we all have experienced, always first seem impossible because of the lack of upvotes we get even through our carefully written posts. This made us realize that we have to spend a very long time on the blockchain to increase our chances of getting upvotes. But then came @sirknight. With him knowing that new Christians on the blockchain needed encouragement, came up with initiatives to help reward quality post devoted to God. And with time he came up with the first church on the blockchain, the @steemchurch.
Now this leads to my main point. As most of us would have noticed, the @steemchurch is faced with the problem of plagiarism, especially in the comment section. The comments section is normally use to interact with the author of a post, stating contributions, knowledge gained, encouragement and any question concerning the post. But this isn't the case for plagiarizers. They spam the post with plagiarized comments. This act should be noted and thoroughly punished. I enjoy reading through resteemed @steemchurch posts and also commenting on them, making the the author know that it isn't only the @steemchurch reps who resteemed and commented on it acknowledges the quality of their post. Many times while I do this, I see comments which do not relate to the post or just quotation of a part the same post with a line of sentence written under it and also plagrized comments from other post. All this discouraged me from continuing to comment on post. I only just read and leave which is not suppose to be the case. This is the reason I am so happy for the inception of the @steemcourt.

image
source

My Suggestions on How to Stop Plagiarism on @Steemchurch Posts

Plagiarizers in this are those seeking rewards from a post which they don't care to read or understand. This act should be discouraged by giving penalty for those involved. Here are suggestions on how to stop them;

1.. Authors of a post should always check the comment section on their post for spammed or plagrized comments. When they find any, they should reply with a note of warning to the guilty party.
2.. This warning should be considered as a strike to the party involved.
3.. When any party has gotten up to three(3) strikes, there should be a strict penalty for that party served to them by the @steemcourt. In this case, I suggest flagging the party's account.
4.. Counting strikes will prove to be a Herculean task for the @steemcourt, so I suggest that there should be witnesses who will go through all @steemchurch related post and forward the names of parties issued with a note of warning by the author of the post. And when a name is reported up to three(3) times, action can then be taken.
5.. Authors using any @steemchurch related tags should be willing to help the @steemcourt fish out spammers and plagiarizers.

These are my suggestions, and I do hope they prove to be helpful in stopping plagiarism in this community.

dyz7

Sort:  

Thanks @dyz7 for the suggestions, indeed the court really appreciate your contribution in helping to stop the art of plagiarism.

The court is looking forward in setting up court witnesses to help enhance these activities and I'm sure this won't take a lot in finding.

I am so glad to be able to contribute to the @steemcourt. I also wouldn't mind being a witness to the @steemcourt 😁😁😁.
Cheers

Nice suggestions, this initiative will not only stop plagiarism but also improve every parishioners to be at their best when writing a post, I also love the witness aspects this will be of great help. Thanks

I get the sentiment, but plagiarism is not only, already frowned upon, but in the United States, is actually illegal, especially when you're making money off it. In my mind because of that, they don't need "three warnings...".

People who plagiarize are lazy, ignorant and literally don't care. And I literally don't give a flying rats tail (hint: read stronger language here if you prefer) if anyone disagrees with me on that.

I've been a writer most of my whole life. I have zero respect. This is not a behavior that needs "discouraging."

It just needs to be punished. But I feel that way about a lot of laws that are broken. That's just me. Now if they aren't making money off it? Fine. Warn them.

I called out one joker the other day. Ironically enough, this same joker actually plagiarized a comment on @steemcourt post about plagiarism.

I shook my head and went onto the next article.

Hello @dyz7.
It appears you have exposed your private MEMO key as a memo in a recent transfer.
We suggest changing your password before another user can maliciously use it; reading any encrypted messages sent to your account, or pretending to be you on services such as Minnow Booster.
To change your password go to https://steemit.com/change_password and fill out the form.
Click here for more information.

Congratulations @dyz7! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dyz7! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50