You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Birding 📷 131

Nice shot. I have a soft spot for Robins. When I was about 10 a nest blew down in a storm and we were able to save one of the young. I would put the box outside during the day and at night it was in our sun room.

What amazed me was that one of the parents hung around and when it was time he/she actually fledged the young. Everyone had told me the parent wouldn't have anything to do with the young because I had handled it. I guess they were wrong. Peeper came around a few times after that but then was lost to the wild. LOL! I'll never forget that experience.

Sort:  

Wow, I thought I responded to this.
What a beautiful experience. :) That's cool that a parent stayed near. I don't actually know much about the reality of human messing with the young and if that means rejection. I do know that most birds have a very limited sense of smell (except Vultures). Even Condors rely on their eyes to find carrion. So I'm not sure if it would be a scent that would turn parents away from babies that were in contact with humans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82