newbie developer with many questions

in #steemdev6 years ago

I want to develop a steem app for schools regarding posting and competitions. I still have to learn the programming language. I want to know what is the right programming language to learn? java or javascript? I will also create a community forum for schools on chain bb.

Sort:  

It's a good idea, I think you can develop it using java programming language, you create in the android application version. if you want in the website version I suggest you use PHP programming language.

You can really use any language because of the steem api. as long as a language can interface with a cmdline (aka run processes) and parse Json, then it should in theory be able to work on steem.

From experience, I would tell you to learn Python or Java instead of trying to learn JavaScript as your first language. While JavaScript is arguably more popular then the other two (well at least python); learning it first is an easy way to end up picking up some really bad habits.

That being said, JavaScript is a fairly easy language to pick up after you've come to a point where you understand the basic concepts of programming in general. Even if you learn Python, Ruby or Java first, you shouldn't have much trouble moving over to JavaScript after a few days worth of studying.

Also, pretty sure there are some good Go libraries that interface with steemit.

The language is really your call - I'd say that the following have the best library support so far in steem:

  • Javascript
  • Python
  • Ruby
  • Java

Server programming with javascript (i.e. Nodejs) will be a nightmare if you haven't much programming experience. I'd avoid it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54