Insteem App Preview - My React Native Playground

in #steemdev6 years ago

I started playing around with React Native a bit more and decided to continue my work on my Insteem app for Steem. Not being satisfied with the performance and UI of the existing Apps for steem I'll give it a try. As I need to get into RN anyway for my business thats probably a good use case.
And its connecting to my GraphQL backend for Steem, steemql, so I can test that a bit more.

As 'Preview' indicates its very basic at the moment, but it won't stay like this for long..

The technology used:

  • React Native
  • SteemQL Server (GraphQL)
  • Apollo GraphQL Client
  • Expo (for Development and Live Testing)

If you want to give it a try, you can get your hands on the actual version here.
Its published with expo which makes developing and user testing of React Native apps a breeze.
All you need ist the expo app. Scan the barcode of the Insteem app with it, and thats it.. Feedback welcome

Stay steemed...

Simulator Screen Shot - iPhone X - 2018-01-24 at 13.56.56.png

Sort:  

Awesome. React Native with GraphQL. A dream come true :)
Thanks for sharing.

Gave it a shot, looking good! Expo really changed the way native app dev works... before Expo, it would have been impossible for you to really share this without the app store. What do you plan to add next? Or is it complete?

Thanks. Expo to the rescue ;)
This is a preview/prototype, so its just the beginning. Guess posting/voting will be next..

Is your SteemQL Server production ready? I would like to build a mobile app with it.

More or less. I have a mobile and web app using it.. works well. Still a lot can be improved but at the moment I lack time for it.. What do you wanna build?

First I want to publish a react native starter application which uses the steem-js lib. But it seems that steem-js is not working with react-native out of the box. I just filed an issue for the steem-js lib. By any chance, do you know a working example which utilizes RN with steem-js?

So I was looking for another solution and remembered your post. Having a working GraphQL connected to Steem looks like the best world to me :)

I started out with a react native app and steemjs which works well together (at least back then, no issues). Its just hard to maintain, compared to GraphQL, thats why I built steemQL. Makes life much easier and is a much better fit with React/RN then integrating the api with redux or so..

I looked at the insteem app code and it is beautiful :)

This is how I want to build my app as well. I also agree that using steemQL is a better fit with RN than steemjs.

Do you think I can build my app using steemQL? Do you consider it production ready?

Thanks.
The steemQL server is running stable for some time now and it covers most of the basic queries of the steem api (the ones prefixed with an _ underscore). The custom convenient queries/mutations are not yet finished. And there are probably undiscovered bugs. But it works in production for me. And its open source so you can contribute any time you need something..

👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69