Photography for Beginners: Intro and Lesson 1: Rule of Thirds

in #steemeducation6 years ago (edited)

Photography For Beginners: Learn To Take Professional Quality Images!

-13.jpg

The photography challenges on Steemit have brought back my desire to teach beginners and amateurs how to improve their photography skills. I’ve taught private group lessons in the past and have really missed doing so.

I was thinking to myself late last night, why not bring this to the Steemit community?!

The basic format for each class was such: A brief lesson on an important technical aspect of photography to help students improve skills and then go out and practice the techniques we covered. I finalized the lesson with a viewing, review, discussion, and Q&A.

I would like to format the “classes” in a similar way here. I will cover an important technical aspect of photography to help you improve your images.

Then…

You can go out and practice the technique and submit your images throughout the week. I would love to recreate the fun and educational environment I had in my classes with you here on Steemit. Lets have fun with this! Get involved, share images, ask questions and give input to others.

I will start week 1 with a tip that I feel will improve your images more than any other. You will see a stark difference in your photographs once you incorporate this technique into your photography.

All classes can be “attended” with any type of camera! Classes will be geared toward beginners and amateur photographers looking to improve their photography skills.

Let’s start week 1!

Photography course for beginners: Lesson 1 - Rule of Thirds

Have you ever wondered why you like a certain photo or asked yourself what makes an image pop?

The answer is likely the photographer followed this rule of composition; The Rule of Thirds.

What is the rule of thirds?

Hold your camera up and look through the viewfinder or on your screen, depending on what you are using. Picture a tic-tac-toe board drawn over the image you plan to take. You want to put your subject into one of these thirds. When you do this it allows the eye to easily travel through a photograph. It allows movement through your image and is more pleasing to your brain and to the eye.

More often than not you will see something you want to photograph, pick up your camera, put your subject right smack dab in the middle, and start shooting. This often leaves you wondering why you can't capture the image the way you see it in your mind.

I want you to find opportunities to practice the Rule of Thirds this week. Pick up your camera and take a second to compose your image. Put your subject into one of these thirds and see what a difference it makes!

I’ll give you some examples.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 12.39.27 PM.png

The focal point is near the top, left third of the image. This allows the eye to travel naturally through the photo from left to right. Whether you realize it or not, when you look at this image, you look at the models face and then your eye travels down her body and back around to her face. In a sense, this rule of composition "tricks" the brain into believing that this is a beautiful photo in the same way that the brain recognizes a symmetrical face as beautiful.

You can apply this rule to any type of photography.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 1.01.33 PM.png

As you can see in this landscape, the focal point begins in the bottom left of the image and travels upward and along the tree line to the buildings on the right side. Landscapes bring up another important point with the rule of thirds. Do you notice how the water fills the bottom third of the photograph? And the sky the top two-thirds? You never want to put a horizon line in the center of your photo. You want to either focus on the land/water or the sky. Pick the more interesting one and give it more space in your photograph.

This is how the image would look if I had picked up my camera and focused on the monument and started shooting. Can you see the difference?
TidalBasinWashHDRsmartphonephotocontest.jpg
It may still be a pretty image but it is far less interesting and you will be more likely to pass it by without another glance.

It's time to take your camera out and practice!

Photograph plants, animals, people, architecture, any subject! Play with the rule of thirds. Put your subject into different portions of your "tic-tac-toe board" and see what you get as a result. Then post your images here for review and discussion!

I will leave you with something all photographers will say. Break the rules! Rules are meant to be broken... Sometimes you see something in your mind that goes against what you have learned. Try it! Sometimes it works and you end up with a phenomenal image.

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Good work :)

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jewels3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 39.26 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Awesome! I don't know if you'll see this but thank you @curie! It means a lot!

Congratulations @jewels3, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2031 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $440.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you! It's a great feeling to see something that you put a lot of time into pay off! Especially as a Newbie!! :-)

I'm looking forward to your series! This is good information and easy to understand. I'll be thinking of the law of thirds the next time I'm taking pictures.

Thank you! I’m glad you like this first one.
I’m already excited about the next. 😉 It’s going to cover lighting.

If you take any pics I’d love to see something. Feel free to share in the comments here.

I'm not a photographer but I like to take pictures and your post really have a great impact on my journey.
Thankyou! I will give a try

Please do! Take your camera out and practice the Rule of Thirds. Submit some stuff and we'll help you get to considering yourself more of a photographer!

This is a very helpful guide and great idea. Totally following.

Thank you! I'm already super excited to put the next one together! It's going to be on lighting. Super important part of photography to learn. :-)

I hope to see some images from you!

My husband is the photographer, I write. But I also like to learn, even though he teaches me most the stuff. I still mix up aperture with ISO and shutter speed and Gods help me. :)

Ha ha. I remember how long it took to get all of those different numbers down and keep them straight. ;-) Then the whole aperture being backwards from what you naturally think it should be. Lol.
It's fun though.

Yes. It's why I sometime accompany him ( @mrlightning ) on his photoshoots.

Fun!
Thanks for his link. I'll check him out!

Hi! I just read your first lesson in photography, BTW im a way beyond being newbie, its just my first time in holding cameras ever since i joined steemit and i was inspired by people here who are submitting photos that are amazing!


If in anyhow , can you check my version of the 'rule of thirds'? I am open with intellectual criticism :)

sub ni com.JPG

Ok, @deeday31! First of all, Thank You for being the first to submit a photo!
You are so close in this one but I want you to picture this. I cropped the image some and I'll explain why.

DQmccCzShw2g9ZTmPBgfZ5XHHaB4rTjsDth29krsTdUCaGt_1680x8400.jpg

You've done many things correctly in this one. You have your stem coming up from the bottom left third. You have the out of focus flower in the background in the top third of that side, so you are framing your subject well. Take my crop and picture an inch added to the left side. Your main flower will actually be near the center but adding an extra inch to the left side and cutting off an inch on the right will allow the eye to travel through the photo a bit easier.

I would give just a touch more space on the top as well. The tip of the petal is so close to the edge that the eye wants to stop there. The way the petal is bent would help move the viewers eye back through the photo if there was just a touch more space. Not a lot, maybe one or two centimeters more.

Is this something you can retake because I would love to see it reframed to see the end result?!

Too, if you retake this, remember to keep the stem coming up from the bottom third of the photo.

Great points.. thanks for bringing these important points in our view.
your post resteemed!

Thank you for the resteem! I hope to see some some images from you!

its a good post, besides i wanna be a travel photographer, so I can learn it from this post, thank you you much

I want to be a travel photographer too! That would be the perfect life. :-)

I can't wait to see some images from you with the Rule of Thirds in mind!

Please visit my post if you dont mind

Will head over!

Very nice! I hope you join us with discussion and photos in the comments.

Okay.. I will 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94