CopenSteem is -unfortunately- CANCELED.

in #steemevent6 years ago

This is @meanmommy33 and I am very sad to announce that I have to cancel CopenSteem - or at least postpone it, so it doesn't sound that bad.

I feel really sad because I put A LOT of effort for the last 5 months, to create this account, to try and run it, to look for a venue, to get attention and participation and I am so disappointed that this didn't happen.

So, what did I do to make this happen?

  • I first created the @copensteem account and later on the Discord.
  • I got a date for it and started sharing the idea with everyone I knew who might have been interested, on and off Steemit.
  • I tried to find an affordable venue in case I had to cover the expenses myself.
  • I kept saying [asking, BEGGING] people to SHARE. Upvotes were never that important for that matter.
  • I kept researching into finding more people located in Denmark and Scandinavia and I also got help from fellow Steemsugar @soyrosa and former fellow OCD curator @jeanpi1908 to expand the invitation to Holland and Germany - nothing happened...Thank you though guys!

Why didn't it work then?

  • First of all, people who were supposed or promised to help me [and I'm not going to point fingers here], didn't. I am only ONE person, who also manages @steemsugars and a million other things on and off Steemit.
  • At the Nordic Blockchain Association [a group of 2500 people based in Copenhagen] they didn't seem to be interested at all - I think most of them don't even know Steemit. Sad but true.
  • Venues here are very expensive, which means that I needed to have a participation number in order to book anything or try to find something affordable that I could cover myself. I got some advice [again,not pointing fingers] that was the least useful : Since I am not a whale and I live in one of the most expensive countries in the world, clearly I wouldn't be able to cover expenses myself - I'm not a millionnaire. At least, not yet.
  • I guess there aren't many Steemians around (?)

I will try to do better next time. I will find other ways and insist more. But for now, for April 25th, the event is off.

Too bad that @redrica booked a trip from London to be here, so hopefully we can meet with some Danish based Steemians at least (?)
Open call to: @katharsisdrill, @arsenal49, @irreverent-dan and @rawbinhutt - maybe have a small gathering while @redrica is here? With @creutzy also of course.

I guess not all projects on Steemit end up being successful, and I already got one which is so I can't complain - much. But it does hurt because I did everything I could in my power to make this happen and unfortunately it didn't -and I highly doubt it will in the near future.

I am always available to talk though!
Here's the CopenSteem Discord: https://discord.gg/tGkMCn7
And this is me on Discord if you wanna talk privately:
@meanmommy33#9667

Cheers you all, thanks for any support I got [because I did get some support!] and maybe you'll hear from CopenSteem again soon -hopefully!


@katharsisdrill thanks one more for the amazing logo!!! Maybe it'll be more in use in the future!! :D

Sort:  

Ahhh, that truly is a shame! Sorry to hear interest was SO low :-/ Maybe start from the ground up: post on this account with smaller Danish meetings so people start getting jealous and want to come - once interest is above 10 people it might be worth it to create a more 'official' meet-up?

First meet-up people will be jealous about is the one with @redrica ;-) Next time I'll join!

Cheers!

I think a facebook event would have done the trick maybe - but then it would be also random people, not just Steemians. Also, what I forgot to mention on the post [because again 'not pointing fingers'] is that I also had a speaker ready, who expressed interest, we talked a bit and then...never responded to me again. And lately a lot of people dodge my PMs, even when it's about me helping with something. I don't get it...am I becoming the 'Mean Mommy' in here indeed...? Who knows.
But yeah, I'll work on it for sure...!
And we would love to have you here but I remember the almost overlapping trip of yours this time - we'll manage some other time for sure!
Thanks girl!

Ah, such a shame that it didn't work out :(

Yeah, I guess not the time yet (?) We'll see - maybe give it another try during summer (?)
Thanks girl - we'll have our own CopenSteem it's ok hahahaha

Who knows! I guess it's time to onboard some Danish then :)

YES WE WILL

Ja, du skal taler lidt dansk :P muahahaha [now go on Google Translator :P ] xD

I WILL DO FINE WITH MY ENGLISH

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
We're gonna have SO much fun here!!!! :* :* :*

Sorry to hear about that! I have been off the screen in January and February as I had some health problems, but I think we should make a small gathering anyways. Vincent-> @vcelier is comming and I think I can get a few more Steemians to attend. I am off to konfirmation, but I will write you as soon as I can.

Never say never.. @redrica will have u all alone then. Chin up Loop!

If this is something you rally want to happen, then don't give up..It's still early in the game.

That's such a shame. Even though I wouldn't be able to attend - it sounded like a great initiative and event. At least you and @redrica will have some fun and Copenhagen is an awesome city - absolutely loved it!

P.S. Let me know if I can help at all with any future events (even though I'm London based) - even if it's spreading the word and resteeming!

Arh. How sad.. I just found this thing and it sounded pretty cool... Cheers from a Dane..

Congratulations @copensteem! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @copensteem! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67