You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Experiments: Is it better to sell your vote with Smartmarket or Minnowbooster?

Idea for you with 2 identical accounts if you want to test something.

The math behind voting power recovery tends to be talked about incorrectly and I've been meaning to run a test to show this. But never seem to have a time where I can run the test without messing up my voting for the contest.

Would like to see what the payout difference in total votes given is for say casting 30 100% votes from a fully powered account vs doing systematic votes during the recovery time from the first account.

Due to the 2% of the current voting power drain on your VP from each vote the math seems to be that the value of the votes will be equal, but most people assume that it will be higher for the systematic votes which is why they get so hung up on voting power.

I run my voting power way down some days as I know there is no way to get online for 12-24 hours sometimes due to work and then let it recover. Some people have told me I'm wasting money doing it this way, but I disagree. Would love to have a test to prove one way or another.

Hope that all makes sense.

Sort:  

I know there are weird things that can happen due to voting power quantization at very small values (like below 5%) but my overall understanding is the same as yours - the value of the votes in total should be equal.

I'll think about how to test that. It's another one that's going to require programming.

It would or it would take sitting at the computer nonstop to vote every couple hours.

I was thinking of just taking a 100% account and running it down with 30 votes. Looking at steemworld to see how many hours it would take to recover. Then figure out how much that many votes would be worth. Compare the actual votes of the 30 and compare. This also would avoid any changes in the price feed which would mess things up.

If you need a place to burn 30 votes hit all the entries for PIF and their featured bloggers ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85