You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The worst of it

in #steemfest5 years ago

I pretty much have the same thoughs regarding today’s trip. I’ve been “looking forward” to it which I know probably sounds weird and strange but I feel as though I’d be upset with myself for not seizing this opportunity to take part in it. I’m sure it will bring a wave of emotions from the obvious disgust and sadness, to the relief that this particular atrocity is done with. Along with fear and concern for what the future holds and if this could happen again some day.

However it goes, I’ll be able to go home and tell my daughter about it. She will be here next year for her senior trip. Her class had a ton of options of amazing places to visit in Europe. They all got together and voted...this is where they chose as one of the stops. That in itself gives me hope for the future. The fact that a bunch of 16 year olds from New Jersey, were socially conscious enough to actually WANT to take part in a visit to Auschwitz that will no doubt be an eye opener for them is weirdly comforting to me. Either way, I’m glad I’m here with all of you today to share in what will most likely be a pretty powerful experience.

Sort:  

It was an experience like no other I guess and for me, a very positive one. Understanding a sliver of that past has to make people think about the future and their current actions toward it. I am glad that people like your daughter have chosen to visit and hope that they will really understand the possibility of being complacent in the face of such ideas.

Yeah, I’m glad I did it. Probably no need to go back for seconds as while it was a moving experience, it was fairly emotional and harsh. Not the kind of thing I want to revisit but I’m happy to have been a part of it.

I wish everyone could have the experience just once. Maybe this world would be a better place if people could see firsthand what happened. Reading and learning about it are one thing. Being there and seeing the photos and belongings put chills into me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86