STEEMFEST: How to get the most downvotes ever

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

Whoever was at the back of the transfer bus from Tobacco Theatre to Volkshotel should have an idea why I chose this title.

This is my first ever blog post, totally new to Steemit (registered two months ago maybe), having some superficial understanding of cryptocurrencies in general, I just found myself accidentally in Amsterdam in the middle of Steem's early adopters.

And I'm impressed.

I'm impressed of the idealism of the people I met there, of the extremely high quality of the organization of the event, and also the good vibes of the city of Amsterdam. All of the Dutch people I met throughout my life had a kind of relaxed way facing the world, and Amsterdam justifies my highest opinion of the Dutch nation in general.

So first of all, I was expecting average square headed geeks coming to this event, some of them trying to make money by speculating or trying to find weaknesses in the currency, instead I found people with shining eyes having very bright ideas how all this will lead to a bit better world.

I had an interesting conversation with @tatianamoroz about how artists could use cryptocurrencies for their own purpose, even by creating cryptocurrencies that are named after the artists themselves. Wow, I was thinking about that all the way back to Hungary, it's a very bright idea, good luck to make this work out! By the way you have an excellent voice, and although it may feel awkward to have someone compose a song about crypto, I think this is an good way to spread things in the world. People who like your song will scratch their had about the meaning of hash or crypto, and they may try find out more. Good job Tatiana! :)

Quartier Putain

Before leaving the group at the pancakes near the Red Light District (Le Quartier Putain I like how they call it!) I had a small chat with @mammasitta telling me stories how they were discovering vinyls back in time, they didn't know about scratching and mixing, they were just putting one song after the other. Well, DJs going through an age of CDs (which wasn't long at all) nowadays play from digital formats with a computer in front of them plus some extra tools which I never grasped (thanks @kevinwong for the music!). Time goes fast, and still accelerates. If you learned a skill back in time it may have been enough for 10-20 years, nowadays it may be only enough for the next couple of years. Well @mammasitta I think you are around the age of my Mom, all my respect for being here with us , following the trends and staying cool! I'll pop you a message in case I go Bali ;)

Hey @sneak thanks for your advices on spreading the word about Steemit.com in Hungary. As I told this to many of you, we are already a big community in Hungary with 5 registered members, and nearly the half of our community appeared on Steemfest. So there is lots of work to be done, and we have to face the usual chicken and egg problem as everyone else, the only big difference here is that no-one besides Hungarians actually speak Hungarian. So how to get all those upvotes for an unknown language spoken by 15 million people around the world?... Please everyone comment on this, and give us ideas! Sneak told us some good ones, but we always need more!

@roelandp thank you very very much for the organization of the event, and especially for the possibility for us to stay in that empty room in Volkshotel after that heavy party in the night. It would have been super long to make it to Haarlem. I like your tulip suit man!

@ned Thank you for the Jaegermeister in Volkshotel!
Look I missed the opportunity to talk to you, I wanted to ask you that after reading the Steem Whitepaper, I felt you guys are pretty much involved in finances / economics, and apparently in programming at the same time. Who's the finance brain and who's the programmer among you two with @dantheman?
My other question would be about content that needs restriction, or even deletion, how would you handle that case? What if somebody posts pedofile content, downvoting does not seem to be enough in that case. How to get rid of that if it's in the blockchain? Can you comment on that?

And last but not least @andrarchy you have to know it's always very interesting to chat with Americans about the world and politics especially, because you guys have a totally different thought process than what I encounter in my daily life in Europe / Hungary. Many people just read, gather information, and then decide what their opinion will be based on information alone (I also fell into this trap so often in my life), instead of going through a framework of thought that leads to a deduction often different / controversial from the point of view of the "masses". I liked your question to @spiz0r asking him about his way of deducing that Trump in the end will become the president.

This is what I like about Americans, they are taught to think. If you feel it's not true for most of them (since I never been to the U.S. I don't know that), maybe it's true to the ones that travel, the ones I meet :).
By the way, you mentioned, that in order for an article to be successful, in your opinion it should be a bit controversial. Not too much, because then people run away, just a bit.

Mac Lipsticks, yes Lisa

Well my post has no andrarchial controversies, unless it's title, and the history of the title is as follows:

Let me first thank Mr. Johnnie Walker for creating Black Label which is a 12 year old Scotch Whisky blend, and which highly contributed to my (and hopefully other's) mood on the night of Steemfest. I never was a Whisky guy, I always drank rum, but this blend is simply good. I read somewhere that the Black Label is actually one of Johnnie Walker's most liked blends (the other one is the Blue Label, which is pretty much overpriced in my opinion). When I was around my twenties, one of my father's friend told me, he hated Scotch at my age, but when he got over thirty he started to love it. Well, body chemistry is an interesting thing, it works on my body as well, I'm in my mid thirties, and I started to like it. Thank you Steemfest that I could find this out.

Sooo, I made it to the bus, where I found myself in the company of some young beautiful girls, and well, all started with concealing. I never heard this word before, but could grasp the meaning quite fast. Since one of our beautiful Steemian ladies, with an exceptionally sexual upper lip (I'll explain that later) had a complete makeup studio with her, and I could not stop myself, felt pretty much like in a stand up comedy from the inside (I would like to insist on this), maybe it just looked like awkward and strange from the outside, but I had great fun.

Sorry if I offended anyone, I did not mean to do so, I just tried to laugh with you guys, and bring some controversy (?) I mean fun to the bus trip ;). As I say to my friends, I always try to dig deep, and then get out from the hole hopefully before the end of the conversation, than trying to be flat and boring. Especially when I need to stay in control of a situation involving four exceptionally talented girls (I have to use other words than beautiful, and well I think they are used to hear that all the time).

So back to the subject of the upper lips, when I was a young and shy boy, I tried to read as much as possible about human nature, relations and self development as possible, and one of the books was written by Lailan Young about reading faces. And well, as far as I remember, an upper lip that is behind the lower lip (if you check from the side-view a.k.a profile) means a big sexual power, check out this picture of Uma on this picture (no, not @mrs.steemit :). I don't know anything about her private life, but based on the book, she is an excellent example. Since I read this book I have an eye on the lips in the hope of a brighter future ;) So congratulation for your lips Tara!

And girls, girls, girls! I like excellent makeup ( @lisadang you're unbelievably good!), I like lipstick, I like fake eye lashes (although that makes it hard for me not to look at you all the time, good job @guerrint, even if that was not your intention), I like beautiful white trousers that go up to the waist (thank you @mrs.steemit, it fits you very well believe me), but these only complement to how cool girls you are, maybe accounts for 5% of the total, take it easy. We don't know each other that much, but I know how I was at your age, and I have to say you are doing very well, keep up with it! So thanks again, @mrs.steemit, @lisadang, @guerrint, @rea I laughed a lot, I enjoyed the ride in your company very much.

Now time for the downvotes!

ps: if you made it so far in reading my first post and downvoted me, check out this drone video about Budapest, maybe the next Steemfest can happen somewhere in my neighborhood :)

Sort:  

@gari great man, happy to have you guys hosted for the saturday night at the hotel... Good to see you guys on Oudekerksplein as well. Love your review!

Actually I'm sad that we had our plane tickets so early. To start with I wasn't expecting such a great time, this is why we never thought of buying our plane tickets for one day later. I really would have wanted to participate in that closing dinner on Sunday, the group picture looked awesome!

thanks for the following:

This is what I like about Americans, they are taught to think.

I wish it were true; we seem to have been subjected to an anti-thinking agenda in our public schools over last 20 years.

And critical thinking was never a focus in our teaching to begin with,

I think instead that there is a great deal of stubbornness at a cultural level that lends itself to critical thinking, if nothing else to spit in the faces of our self-proclaimed "elites", to mock and ridicule their rent-seeking and their failed policy. That resistance to unearned authority leads to critical thinking.

Maybe, I never said that it's the school system. Actually it's better if it's not a school system that makes people think, but maybe the culture or the family. It's more stable... Governments (at least in Eastern Europe) somehow don't like to have bright people around.

the culture or the family. It's more stable.

Exactly! ;)

Great meeting you you offensive prick ;) Following and look forward to hearing more from you :) You guys were a blast to talk to

Thanks, it was a pleasure to meet you Sir!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for the post! Good luck with your efforts in Hungary and trying to increase the userbase. Lemme know if I can be of any help at Steemit.Chat and assist you in your endeavour!

Congratulations @gari! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gari! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 1 Attendee SteemFest 1 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gari! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 2 Attendee SteemFest 2 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yoooo I found you

Hey Mammasitta, every planning to come to Hungary? Check out my post: https://steemit.com/steemfest/@gari/you-came-to-steemfest-allnightcrash-offers-you-a-free-budapest-pub-crawl

It was a pleasure to meet you!

Hey Gari!

it was a pleasure to meet you and @spizor during steemfest! I hope you guys success in your project for the hungarian platform.

See you in Cuba ;)

Hi Daniel,

It was great talking with you in the park. We are kinda stuck with the project, but I hope we can manage to set up the site using public rpc steem nodes next week. :)
How's going your map project? I might need some help to locate all the Hungarian steem users.

btw I write my name with a zero! :)

Hey Lightproject, it was a pleasure too :) Actually I was thinking that maybe a private messaging facility would be useful to Steemit, otherwise we have to publicly comment to Steem Posts of each other ;) Although yea, it's hard on a public blockchain ;)

Check this out: https://steemit.com/steemfest/@gari/you-came-to-steemfest-allnightcrash-offers-you-a-free-budapest-pub-crawl

I added the post to the map!

;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67