To Steemfest or not to Steemfest? To Steemfest! - by @mariandavp

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking about it and re-thinking about it, and I've counted and re-counted my money, and I still have to pay about 1000 euro each month for the next four months to Greek tax authorities, and a deal to close by year end, and two paintings to deliver by next month, and a wedding to go to and this fantastic BMW red electric car (for kids) to buy for my niece's first birthday, and an excellent magnetic rowing machine to shed this extra 4% body fat I’ve gained since I met Steemit, and a dozen of other things that I have to do and count in favor of the NO-GO option.

Also, there is another thing; I don’t know anybody. What if I go through another traumatic experience like the one I went through when I was a student at MIT and felt like the GREATEST admission mistake in the history of the higher circles of brilliant people?

On the other hand, being the greatest mismatch is the only greatest something I’ve ever been and in general I always seem to thrive when I make illogical decisions. That’s how I’ve won my first gold medal in long distance running. I run a 20km run race in 1 hour and 53minutes. You are thinking “This is not fast!”. Of course it’s not. People are winning marathons in about the same time… BUT sane (Greek) women don’t get up on a Sunday morning to run a race by the sea when it snows. Lucky me, none of them showed up. Yay!

Looking back at my greatest successes and then comparing it vis-à-vis the logical counter-arguments, the answer to my quest “To Steemfest or not to Steemfest” became obvious. I booked my tickets, I booked my hotel and I am about to purchase our two Steemfest tickets. My cousin is coming with (that’s what I call hedging for mismatch). She signed up on Steemit about a month ago following hours of related propaganda by me but… she can’t find her key to log in. Lol! On the contrary my mother @sofi-m is having a blast at Steemit and she is constantly thinking of what her next post will be. Crazy family. That’s us last Sunday by the way (me, my gorgeous cuz, my aunt and my mom).

Despite the fact that it will be my 10th or 11th time in the Netherlands, I am pretty excited about this weekend. I find this to be a unique opportunity to support something I really believe in. What might have been someone else’s dream or investment choice has also become an important part of my own inner and artistic expression. I don’t care if STEEM currency is low or high at this moment. It’s only a moment.

Running has taught me one thing; no matter how cheap or how noble a motive behind a goal is, strong desire to succeed brings the strength you need to accomplish it.

If you don’t believe me, ask Sia!

Sort:  

I be there .....Cant wait to meet you all ! I just posted a blog again after 6 weeks offline

That's great news! And welcome back 😊

I enjoyed the choreography and music in the video.

Congratulations on the trophy win too. Although you earned it with your dedication and commitment rather than the intended competition, you earned it non-the-less. Enjoy the victory!

Hehe thank you 😊 it's been a while since that race but I still bring this victory up as anecdotal evidence for the good results that come with dedication.

I think it will be a really good experience to be there plus you have your cuz to back you up, you might even win something too. What could possibly go wrong? :)

Well there are a million things that can go wrong in a trip but I hope that they won't! Thank you 😊 though, I also think it's going to be nice. Next year though it will be better, because your pendants will be sold there!

My girlfriend @sharingeverybite and I are going as well, it should be a lot of fun. Looking forward to meeting you!

That's great! Looking forward to meeting you too!

Great to hear you're coming @mariandavp and that's a great story about how you won your race! Funny! I don't really know anybody either, but at the same time I feel like I do know people from reading blogs and connecting on chat.... You should be a tour guide for us.. when are you coming in? I think we should all use the Steemit.chat #steemfest channel to connect with others.. I'm there early on the 8th... see you there!

It's true, I also feel friendly and familiar with many of you after all these posts and steemit chat channel should also work well in hyping up the event! I am coming on the 11th unfortunately, but I would most probably make the most boring tour guide ever; I am probably the only serial tourist of Netherlands that doesn't smoke pot and bursts out in tears just in the idea of the red light district! Total nerd...

Lol. Not everyone goes there for the sex and drugs!

Where do you like visiting? I've been there many many years ago a couple times briefly and enjoyed it.

That's good to hear, because usually I end up going to museums and restaurants alone! Everyone else has passed out somewhere in AMS! I like the restaurant district behind Hard Rock café. As we approach Christmas period and the city is full of those little lights drinking a whisky, or a cognac or even a hot chocolate in a small Dutch bar in the canal area is kind of cinematic. The art museums are breathtaking - although my favorite paintings are in the Hague. I still haven't tried fishing herring and eating directly as the Dutch do every weekend, but maybe I'll skip it this year as well. What we were thinking to do was to go see Delft or Utrecht. I've heard their fantastic and the trains in the Netherlands are quite fast.

Sounds good.. Will check out the restaurant district behind the Hardrock cafe!
It would have been nice for you to guide us in Hague if we overlapped. Fishing sounds fun.. Hmm Delft/Utrecht seems nice too, but might just stay closer since I haven't explored Amsterdam well enough yet. Anyways look forward to seeing you there!

The district I was telling you about is called DE PIJP. If you have a sweet tooth like me go to the Chocolate Bar! Even better wait for me, will go together!

@mariandavp Chocolate Bar sounds good! We can go together!

I will be the first time outside of their state.
I will be glad to see you! 🙂
Cool first gold medal, well done @mariandavp65!

Me too!! Traveling to different countries is an eye opener, you will enjoy this! Will you bring your origami rings?

I'm sure to have fun while traveling! But I have bad english ...
I want to give a ring for you, what is your favorite color?)

Your english is fine. That's very sweet, thank you! Whatever color you think it will suit me 😊

Sometimes helps me a translator.
I think the paper rings fragile.
I have never gave a girl a paper ring :D
Okay, I will hope to find you)😉

See you at SteemFest. You may not know anyone when you arrive but you will have new friends and contacts when you leave!

That's true, looking forward to meeting you in person @opheliafu !

Looking gorse to seeing you there :)

Me too, looking forward to your speech!

I thought Sia lebouf...
:/

motivational as well 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75