Just some thoughts from a Steemfest go-er!

in #steemfest5 years ago

Just some thoughts... here, now you have the chance to look inside my head for a bit and the way my mind works... Trust me, it confuses me too sometimes. 😂
So, we just heard the news about where Steemfest4 will be this year. Bangkok!
Now, I think I must have some sort of telepathic line going with @roelandp, because only a day before, my impatient self booked a week in Singapore in the first week of November. I did this, because the rumours were quite strong that SF would be in Asia this year, so I thought as long as I don't know anything, I'll just spend a week in my home country (not my real home country, my adopted one) and once I can, book the flights there, because it would be easy peasy to fly from Singapore to anywhere in Asia. And he heard me, because the next day he announced the news about SF4.

Steemfest.jpg
Stolen from the Steemfest website here

Now, those who've kept up with my blog may know that Bangkok was my second home for a while when I lived in Singapore. I used to travel to Bangkok pretty much every month, and stayed at my friend's place who worked there for up to 2 weeks and would then fly back to Singapore with gold that I bought in Thailand, to sell it in Little India. This made my travel possible. So in a way, I was a smuggler LOL. Of course, buying gold isn't illegal, bringing it back to Singapore isn't either, but selling it without paying taxes is. I was just lucky that there were a lot of good Indian businessmen who knew a great deal when they saw one. Or maybe I was just lucky. Either way, I think my smuggling days are over. Now that I have some kids to drag around everywhere I go, I have to be more responsible, right? Right...

Anyway, you can imagine that I was pretty excited to hear the news that Steemfest4 will be in Thailand.
It's been a long time since I left Asia and even though I always planned to go back at some stage, I just never did.
Circumstances, priorities (kids) and other things were always stopping me from going back.

Maybe also a little bit the knowledge that there is a chance that I won't come back if we were to travel to Asia. It's a big step to make with kids, but on the other hand: they're still young now, so no better time than now, right?

Well, the wait is over!

Of course, I'm going to Steemfest4. No doubt about it. People who know me here and know about my financial situation would probably tell you that I'm crazy. And they might be right, but that doesn't change the FACT that I'm going.
And since a trip to Asia is not something I do every week or even year, I am planning to stay for some time and of course, the kids will be coming. Fun fact: my eldest two are worried about big, hairy spiders or other 'more-than-four-legged' creatures, while my youngest was jumping up and down and clapping and cheering at the thought of the same 😂. It didn't help at all when I told them that I had seen much fewer spiders in the house compared to what we have here now, in fact only two ever wandered into our home. But then, of course, I had to add that these were a little bigger than ours...The mention of insect-eating geckos in every house in SE Asia only made my eldest a bit more comfortable, the other one terrified...and my youngest cheer even more. So different those guys, and sometimes I wonder how they could ever be mine LOL.

I yet have to figure out if they will be coming to SF as well, because, well, it's really the only time of the year without them usually, and if I don't bring them, then who will mind them, etc. etc. But those are thoughts for later, no need to worry about this now. My eldest and her boyfriend will be coming to the fest for sure since I really want to share the joy of it with them, and of course, because they're at an age where I don't have to run after them all the time. Plus my eldest daughter might just be the person to bring me back to earth and stop me from crying (again) on the last day. 😂

In the back of my mind, I am already planning trips to other places. Places I wanted to go to but just never made it to while living in Asia, like Laos and Cambodia or Vietnam. Of course, Indonesia is on the list to go back to, because...well...too much I haven't seen. And so on, and so on. So before I know it, this trip will be 1 month, or 2, or 3...Shit, who am I kidding? There is a chance that we won't be back here any time soon... So yeah, no need to break my head about it now. Also in the back of my head I am thinking about our dogs and cats... Of course, I can easily board them for a month, but three months? Not sure about that. So that's the one concern I need to concern myself about. What if? What if we're staying? Well, then I'll just have to find a solution for that, but not now...not yet. Wherever we go, there will always be a way.

So there, my intentions have been set. I'm going. We're going. And nothing can stop us. Steemfest4 here we come!

This time no trying to stop a car with my bare hands, no black eye or wonky walk, I promise...

Oh, and of course now will be the perfect time to start posting those photos and videos of SF3 that I didn't post earlier on. Hehehe...

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

Just use them kids as mules,
like any smugglerette worth her salt would. 😘

Hehehe. Of course I have considered the option. 😜 But I'm quite sure I can find other ways of making money and stay for a bit this time around.

Woop!!! The more I talk about it, the more I tend to say that I will go.. First I saw bumps in the road because of going alone (until you discussed the option to maybe fly from where you start the trip) .. but now I also realized that this will be a full week of ME-TIME .. so finally, for the first time in years, I can even go out and party :)

tempting... so probably I will try to make it happen.. I mean that will be the SF of all SF's I think talking about location ;) that will be an experience for sure..

Oh ABSOLUTELY!!! It will be awesome. I've been skipping with excitement for three days now. The kids are getting excited too! I'm even looking at nanny services LOL. And no: don't TRY, just DO IT!!! And if we can both fly with Turkish airlines, we'd be able to meet in Istanbul airport. That being said: I used to love flying alone... A nice book, or headphones, some melatonin to get to sleep, I'd sleep for 4 hours and wake up like a fresh flower haha. There won't be any jetlag going to Asia, only coming back (flying back in time) so make sure you have at least one day to recover :) Whoop whoop!

i
am
so
jealous
of
you

the end. LOLOLOL

3 steemfests in a row??? or wait -did you go to the first too?

blah! jealous i say!

but - im' not jealous of seeing the spiders. as a matter of fact.. i'm quite happy i'll be missing them LOLOLOL

enjoy enjoy!!! :)

Hahaha, manifesting like crazy right now :) Yes, 3 Steemfests, I didn't go to the first one because I hadn't heard of Steem yet LOL.

Wow it's a long way from Europe and your mind is made up . Dam it I want to go! Telling the wife I'm heading to Bangkok for 5 days while she minds the kids . That may be a bit of a pickle .

Posted using Partiko Android

that's the good thing of being single...no one to explain anything to. However, I will have to bring the kids since I can't just leave them and don't just want to go for a couple of days...but we'll make it work and try to go to as many places as we can.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.777 which ranks you at #1420 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1429).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.27% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01