STEEM Food Tours #3 : Sky Palace - SubangJaya, MalaysiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago

17 March 2018- today is a very special for my mom, however it's a special day for me as well. Today is my mom's 56's birthday. My brother took a plane all the way from oversea just to be with my mom celebrating her birthday. We know that it will mean a lot to her. My brother coming back and seeing my mom so happy makes me feel that it's a special day. Anyways, we had a reunion brunch in a Chinese restaurant featuring dim sum. As I agree with @jeffjagoe, there are many untrustable review out there( not gonna say names), that is why I would write a honest review to help those who decides to visit this lovely country.

image.jpeg

Salted egg custard bun

This dish is either you love it or hate it, personally I love it because it has the savoury, salty, creamy taste of the salted egg yolk while being sweet from the sugar added
image.jpeg
However this time was a let down. We like it runny like lava but as you can see the filling have became a paste. I suspect it because of too much custard powder added.

image.jpeg

Thousand layer char siew

It translate to Danish bbq pork. Very flaky, sweet, salty , savoury, nice Charing filling. Thumbs up!

image.jpeg

egg tart

Love the flaky layer of the tart, smooth and velvet egg custard filling. Many places uses a regular tender dough for the tart shell but not this one.

image.jpeg

Seafood soup dumpling

Another disappointing dish. Underseasoned, the wonderful filling was let down by that. It contains scallops, prawn, sharks fin.

image.jpeg

Siew Mai

This was worth every penny. Traditionally it's filled with a lot of pork fat and minced pork, however this is special, I barely can find any pork fat and best of all I can actually see the meat fibre which makes me feel I am not eating unwanted meat that was minced.

image.jpeg

Stir Fried loh bak gau

Translate to stir fried yam cake, they are generous with the large prawn which makes it so delicious. I love the wok hey flavour in the dish. Wok hey is the flavour created by stir frying food in a screaming hot wok.

image.jpeg

steamed fish ball

Nothing to complain about. As you can see its huge. I like how nice it's seasoned and it has a clean fish taste but not the sticky fishy flavour.

image.jpeg

chee choeng fun

In English it's a wide rice noodles. Oil is use in between each layer to prevent it from sticking. It's filled with large prawn and soaked in soy sauce. Nice smooth texture with a bouncy savoury prawn in it. I personally don't like it because it's quite plain but if you are into texture this is worth the try.

image.jpeg

Fu chok with bean curd and corn

Fu chok translate to skin of soy milk. I like the flavour and texture combination of the bean curd and the corn but I hate how the sauce is so gluey due to over adding of corn starch. This shows lack of exprience.

image.jpeg

siew Yok

Translate to roasted pork. I tell you this is AWSOME!! Skin is thin and crispy with a amazing porky flavour, the meat it self was accompanied with a good balance of fat. Nicely season and spiced. MUST TRY!!

image.jpeg

char siew

The barbecue pork is divine! Nicely chared surface with a good barbecue sauce made from a prefect balance of spices. Nicely balance fat to meat ratio , ALSO MUST TRY.

overall, it's has ups and down. I have been a regular to this restaurant since it open, standards are very inconsistent. Probably because it's still a new restaurant. There are time when food are all delicious and faultless but this time is a 50/50. The total bill for 5 of us is 154myr ( 41 usd ) but because we have coupon from the last visit we were 140myr ( 37 usd) . It's super worth the amount of food we order. This is so because it's located in a newly developed area.

Google map
https://maps.google.com.my/maps?oe=UTF-8&hl=en-my&client=safari&um=1&ie=UTF-8&fb=1&gl=my&entry=s&sa=X&ftid=0x31cdb301aaaaaaab:0x14f37d238468cd26&gmm=CgIgAQ%3D%3D

Official website
http://skypalace.com.my/index.html

Sort:  

Wow amazing food thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56