STEEM food tours #4: Ru Di Fook, dataran sunway -MalaysiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago (edited)

21 MARCH 2018, from the passed few post I posted on my steemit blog I am sure you would realise that I am a Malaysian.
( a Asian country above Singapore, below Thailand). As a child grown in Malaysia, I realise not many of us fancy Michelin star restaurant and fine dining food. Many would not be comfortable with the fine dining experience. This is probably because after ww2 people were poor, the only food our ancestors could afford are hawker food. We tend to gotten used to street food which the most important element is the taste, other didn't affect much of the dining experiences. For me my self, I am always looking for innovation food. When I saw a restaurant that have innovative food and affordable I would always give it a try as its quite rare to find such food here. This bring me to this modern Hong Kong cuisine restaurant.

Before I start I would like to share my first impression once I looked at the large menu, I was kinda pissed off and disappointed. Large amount of dishes on the menu are not available. Why do invent so many dish if you cannot offer them? So many dishes I wanted to order but it's not available. It instantly kills it reputation
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Just have a look at the menu and you know what I mean.

1) soup wantan mee

image.jpeg
First off the soup, very nicely seasoned broth with a good savoury and flavourful scallop flavour. The noodles lack of smoothness and most disappointing element, the wonton. Wonton skin was extremely tough and dense, filling was one dimensional, the pleasent minced prawn and pork flavour was cover by Ginger plus the mixture was too dense, could be used as a sling shot bullet!

2) yuzu barbecue pork

image.jpeg
Another disappointment, meat was dry, chewy and tasteless. This could be prevented if the marinated the meat after cutting into smaller pieces to increase the expose surface area.flavour however was unique, but was let down by lack of char. Plus side portion was large!

3) roasted pork belly

image.jpeg
Not the worst I have tried but quite disappointing as well, again underseasoned. The cracklings was quite chewy at the bottom due to unrendered fat. It was served with a ginger peanut dipping sauce and sugar granules. That saved the pork slightly. Once more quite large portion.

4) gula Melaka barbecue chicken

image.jpeg
Gula Melaka translate to palm sugar. This was the only tasty dish for the meal, however it's considered average for me, nothing to shoutout about. The chicken meat used was breast. Considering being the most easily over cooked meat, the end up cooking it to prefectio , it was juicy, nicely seasoned, tender and good charcoal flavour.

Overall food was extremely disappointing, the chef have creative flavour ideas and also good plating skills, however either lack of experience or just too ambitious the taste was not there. There are still many dishes I have not tried, but I believe there is some interesting dish in there. The cost of this meal for 3 of us totals to 60myr ( 15.40usd). It's considered cheap for the such plating presentation and ideas but for some simple dish it was considered overpriced!!

Google map
https://maps.google.com.my/maps?oe=UTF-8&hl=en-my&client=safari&um=1&ie=UTF-8&fb=1&gl=my&entry=s&sa=X&ftid=0x31cc4edf8827f8ef:0xa8e948f66b50c902&gmm=CgIgAQ%3D%3D

Facebook official website
https://www.facebook.com/rudifookmy/

Sort:  

Actually, it is very frustrating to have an image and then in a flash you realize that the menu is not what you expected, and you are right when you say that the chef is creative but because of greed you do things fast without thinking that in the long run , will lose more, I hope you overcome the bad time with another rich menu @ alandefong

@perlancarada, I agree with you completely!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:30:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh my God! this looks very good! very provocative! thanks for sharing! good post! Blessings!

Thank for the encouragement!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59