Why Steemfriends.org doesn't work anymore October 2019

in #steemfriends5 years ago (edited)

Firstly, thank you to @blocktrades and @ocbd for the large upvotes in the last article to support the continuation of Steemfriends.org.

Since then, I have spent time to change the colour scheme of the website (first picture below), and spent money to renew the domain name and SSL certificate on September 27, which cost $24.04 USD (second picture below).

And as promised, when I discovered that the backend database had stopped working, I sent 20 SBD to renew the backend database subscription.

However, this amount was sent back to me and the subscription was not renewed. This is unfortunately beyond my control.

As a result, all the functionalities currently on Steemfriends.org can no longer work, because they all depend on the same backend database.

What next?

I will think of other things I can do on Steemfriends.org using SteemJS or other native Steem developer tools. If I manage to find time for this, I will update you guys when I have something.

I hope this article has explained the situation and thank you for your understanding.

Sort:  

Hope you find an alternative!

Same here. most of my Free tools https://steemyy.com are rely on steemsql, but 40 SBD is a bit more than justifying its usage.

Does it cost 40 SBD a month? I thought it was 20.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello @steemfriends! You are awesome!


command: !thumbup is powered by witness @justyy and his contributions are: https://steemyy.com
More commands are coming!

Congratulations @steemfriends! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Damn I just tried to use it. :(

So it costs 40 SBD now? That sounds like a steep increase, is it because of the decline of SBD's $ value? Hmm.

Such a shame! I hope alternatives will be found.

Posted using Partiko iOS

A little late to this, but want to mention an .xyz domain are only a few dollars a year at namescheap. And a Letsencrypt cert is free.

Anyways hope with the next bull run you will return, but consider cutting your server bills from $24 a year to just $2.50 doing what I mentioned. THats not including Steemsql.. not sure what can be done about that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94