You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What value are we adding?

in #steemfutures6 years ago

It's fair to say though that commenting and communicating and chatting with people is significantly harder than just making something and hitting post (especially if you're an individual that has a backlog of blog/art/video/whatever kind of content).

You have to read through what someone else has said, think about it, formulate some thoughts, and then try to engage -- not to mention follow up comments and stuff like that.

tl;dr --> Commenting is hard.

Sort:  

Dude! Despite it being a mammoth-freakin' effort, you have totally smashed it today! You're a Comment-Champ!!!

Sooooooo, my partner will come home from work, have dinner, watch TV while simultaneously browsing social media on her phone. I think she does it for a couple of hours, and then goes to bed, browses for a bit longer and then reads. Sometimes she's researching something or playing Candy Crush, but mostly she's looking at and commenting on her friends and family's posts/photos.

Why does she do that there, and not here... because she cares about those people...
… so basically no one is going to care about Steem-people unless we chat, interact and make them care... which is something you've very good at.

I am noticing that I'm caring less and less about people who ignore their commenters, I guess it's just human nature really... we can't care about people who don't care about us.

Well I think you give me entirely too much credit -- but thanks. I've definitely felt myself commenting less and less, other than the core group of @RunBurgundy testers that I've been interacting with (also -- there's just kind of a lot of crypto & chart talk on here that I find kinda dull).

@caitycat is similar to how your partner interacts with instagram and FB -- much more compelled to use both of those over steem applications (though, I'm starting to break her down and get her to use SteepShot). Maybe specificially in her case, she's having a tougher time connecting with the arts communities on Steem (steem does certainly have a bit of a crypto / boys club vibe to it currently) compared to the interaction she gets on IG.

I am noticing that I'm caring less and less about people who ignore their commenters, I guess it's just human nature really... we can't care about people who don't care about us.

I feel the same way, and I'm starting to consider a policy of not voting on posts unless there is a certain level of engagement in the comments -- or if there's evidence that the author is active in curating and interacting.

There's a few accounts on here that I've noticed are BRUTAL for just posting their Youtube videos, voting themselves, and not supporting any real community -- and I have no desire to support those people.

I don't think I had really formalized it... but I think I'm heading in the same direction policy-wise. If you're just adding content to grab autovotes, you probs don't need me. While I don't have any massive clout to really encourage that type of behavior, I can support the people that care with my time.

I think once the Cat has a bit more clout herself, she can start to encourage other artists to jump on the Steepshot train and help support them up, and create her own little community. That's pretty much my long-term plan. Unfortunately a lot of the artists on this platform are classic post-and-run types.... but I'm sure they'll figure it out.

I really appreciate your work on Exhaust, I really do think that maybe the secret to superfun-Steem-times is interest-specific frontends. Hopefully we get to a point where we're not even logging into Steemit, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99