Ulog - I Met My First Love When I Was Eight

in #steemgig6 years ago

I have come to realize that first loves aren't always about human relationships. It could be a place, a song, a book, or something you are madly passionate about.

Recently, my first love celebrated its 18th year. Teatro Kristiano is just one of the many youth organizations to choose from in Members Church of God International (MCGI). This is a group where people who dance and act for the glory of God come together.

Let them praise his name in the dance: let them sing praises unto him with the timbrel and harp.
Psalm 149:3 (King James Version)

Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth, while the evil days come not, nor the years draw nigh, when thou shalt say, I have no pleasure in them;
Ecclesiastes 12: 1 (King James Version)

I could still vividly remember how I fell in love. It was at first shallow but as years went on, my love has become deep and strong. I was only eight. There was a theatrical performance onstage about those who were lost on the right track; it was moving and inspiring. I was intently watching when I felt in my heart I wanted to be onstage, too. Immediately the following day, my friend and I joined the organization.

There were a lot of instances of wanting to give up, wanting to quit but I always, always go back to that day and to all the days I felt so happy because of this. My hearts was (is) so satisfyingly full that tears made their way out of my eyes. Tears that were from the heart beaming with joy and love. It was nonetheless a very challenging and interesting journey with everyone. I have learned a lot. If those lessons where my mom enrolled me in didn't quite work for me, this one did because I chose it. No, it chose me.

Thirteen(!!) years later I still find myself part of this group. Yes, thirteen! Who would have thought I would be able to stay there for more than a decade! It was a matter of choice, of love, and of God's help to continue guiding us to where we should be. Up to this day, I could still find myself falling madly in love. I could say I really grew up there, spent my adolescent years in the organization while learning and performing, and now, as a young adult, although with more responsibilities than before, strive to continue what I have started.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
Philippians 4:13 (King James Version)

Here we are, celebrating our ministry's 18th year. To God be the Glory!

36002610_10214574213162669_8897051073223589888_o.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @yowpats i @mrexplorer gave you 5 upvotes... keep on blogging.

wow thank you very much @mrxplorer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56