Milkfish and Salted Egg

in #steemgigs6 years ago

Kalahating (cup)kanin pa po! (Another half cup of rice please!)

My husband jokingly asked​ me for another rice refill on his plate.

bangus.jpg

    To my fellow steemians, you probably know what this is. Salted egg (made by curing eggs in a salt and water solution) and fried boneless daing na bangus (milkfish marinated in vinegar). Good combo for breakfast but I cooked this for our dinner because it is the only time I get to cook for the whole family.

    Last Thursday, we went to a Filipino grocery to look for my son's vitamins. I was about to pay it to the counter when a fellow Filipina salesgirl told me they have daing na bangus promo, the buy 3 plus 1 for 20.00 AED so I immediately picked one because my husband has been crying for daing na bangus for months. Haha!

    Before going to work the other day, I took the marinated milkfish out of the fridge to defrost then when we got home from work in the afternoon, it was ready to fry to golden brown. I asked my husband if he could buy us salted egg because aside from ginisang monggo (sauteed mung beans) the next best pair for daing na bangus is the salted egg. Filipino use duck eggs for the salted eggs but some are using chicken eggs too. I honestly don't know the difference but my husband said duck eggs are best for the salted egg because the yolk is fatty, rich and less salty. Salted eggs are ready to eat but it is best to mix it in sliced tomato and onion.

    We are planning to make our own salted eggs for weeks now and we actually bought a tray of egg to start but we still don't have a glass sealed jar to store our eggs in a brine solution for 2 weeks. I guess I need to buy another tray when there is a promotion because I have been using eggs every morning for​ my breakfast. Haha!

jovema.png

banner made by @deveerei

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T06:54:03
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 634.41/800.00
Total Photos: 104
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

best combo ever talaga sis..ang sarap magkamay pag yan ang ulam tas nakataas pa ang paa habang kumakain hehe

Love the combination, food always the best specially some extra rice pa po...

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 08 May 2018.

Thank you po.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86