How Do You Get A Thumbnail Image To Display?

in #steemhelp8 years ago (edited)

I'm trying to help my wife post to Steemit.  She has an image which displays properly at the start of her story, but is not displayed as a thumbnail when browsing articles.

What am I missing here?  Is the thumbnail created automatically from the first image or is there some code we should include in the post to generate a thumbnail?

I have searched and this question seems to come up a lot, but none of the posts I've found have a clear answer to the question.

Thanks for any feedback on this.

Sort:  

It has been the case that images on ipfs didn't show up in the preview. Another reason may be that the hosting server needs to support https. It also could be a new bug, need more info then ;-)

She can always edit the post and try with another hoster. https://postimage.org works fine

Thank you very much this fixed it for me I had the same problem!

It's a file on my own server. I can access it via web browser with no problem using http or https. Also it displays ok on the body of the post, but no thumbnail. Kind of weird.

Ok, I tried it with postimage.org and it worked. I am now assuming that they are looking for those higher priced SSL certificates which I do not really need at the moment.

High priced SSL is a thing of the past :)
https://letsencrypt.org/

I found this great post that solved two problems for me. Turns out that Let's Encrypt is already part of my Synology Diskstation NAS, it explains how to set it up:

https://stefandingemanse.nl/how-to-use-lets-encrypt-ssl-certificate-on-synology-dsm/

So my problem is solved, my images are now working! Thanks again for tip @pharesim .

Thanks! Will definitely give it a try.

Hi, thanks for the tip. I had some issues with my thumbnail and took some time to sort out. I used https://postimage.org as suggested. The thumbnail still did not load but then I was able to rename the images that was uploaded straight from the browser without having to reupload.

The key is you must make sure that there are no funny/special caracters in the image name as this will be in your url too. After renaming the images and updating the image urls in my post the thumbnail loaded.

Thanks! I'm super grateful

As far as I know, the first image that is in the post. If you rearrange them later, I think it does also update the thumbnail.

STEEMIMG.COM its what I use to get the thumb nail. Someone here helped me out. Sorry if I missed the point of this but Ive found that the easiest place to use.

People are going to want to read the Terms of Service on this one!

By signing up, you permit the site to use any image you upload for their own purposes. This includes copying, distribution, sharing, and use.

really, like fb... they own your shot when you upload it.... what about with a watermark signature on it

Whatever pic you put in the header tags become the first pic.

< h1 > yourpic < /h1 >

that doesn't work

Make sure there are no brackets in the image tag within the mardown editor, you are looking for . Example IMG_0331 (1) i had brackets in my images and thats why it was not showing. Usually this happens when you make a copy of the image on your pc and then upload it.

Thanks you so much for this, i had brackets also and had be searching all day for a solution.

thanks - it helped for me too

i found out that you can also just upload your pic right in steemit, just drag and drop your pic right in the markdown/html editor, it's strange that you have to switch to the markdown/html editor for that, afterwards you can continue in normal editor mode.
This way you don't have to upload it on a 3rd party website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72