Users are FACTLESS, @steemhunt is CLUELESS

in #steemhunt6 years ago

After this I will not even bother to say anything, I don't see a point saying anything, staying on the Steemhunt server or even mind the numerous ever changing rules ... just forget it... too much effort falls on to the deaf ears. Steemit is not made of you. I have my own team, I will mind them, if they join to you, they should mind your rules, not me.

This is the newest from steemhunt from +project7 :

"I'd like to inform you guys about the Influencers system (a.k.a. IF).
We try to invite the IFs from all various groups/nationalities. We also CONSTANTLY monitor if they use their voting power to upvote each other, upvote for wrong hunts, or utilise it to some certain group voting group.
Do not misunderstand the reason why we run this operation. All we know that Steemhunt has been attacked by CERTAIN GROUP VOTING POOLS so far since our launching. Since ABV (Account Based Voting) is not an official thing at all in Steemit and SH runs for the first time, we have so many challenges to combat against those abusing attempts.
So we have been trying so many efforts to minimise this attempt in order to make good hunters can earn rewards in "fair" way. I know it's kinda naive to think if we didn't expect the abusing attacks, but i still think if there were not this much degree of abusers in SH, we could move far more forward to build the HUNT platform, which increase the value of HUNT tokens - I believe this is everyone's wish here.
We are always welcome to hear any better idea/solutions. Please suggest anything you think it can be more brilliant. However, please stop spread "negativity" without any fact. I know it's your freedom to express your feeling, but I hope you can use that feeling in more productive way so that your action actually can be helpful to us."

"However, please stop spread "negativity" without any fact" - here comes the FACT - I had multiple members of my team participating in the steemhunt, now I don't have ANYONE. That's the fact.


So, let's get this right - let's say I promote you - I upvote some random person daily because I like them and because we are friends, but I can't do that if that person is writing also about Steemhunt by promoting - like me ( or at least I intended to)? Who would vote on that person, if not their friends? Where is your logic?

Upvote for wrong hunts??? - what wrong hunts? What is a wrong hunt? If I would upvote I upvote because I like it. How do you define a wrong hunt? Or who defines it and base on what? Your rules? What rules? You are dropping hunts based on a few lose parameters, quoted.

Utilize my vote for a certain group voting... - at this point you started pissing people off, big time - none of your bloody business where anyone will put their voice in the first place unless it is your article or you page. In that case you shoudl have a programming how to deal with that. Which you don't.

I have my group, I have my team, I am a member of other teams and other groups, I vote on them, they will receive my vote in a trail or individually.

If I said that I like you, you can't ask me to 'divorce' my other interests. I have other friends. Do you think we are married???? If we were married you would get an instant divorce after this sort of the bullshit.

How can you ask the Steemians to drop every other group just to be a part of yours? Which top writer will get along with this and drop all his hard earned connections because of you? I am not talking about the double profiles and fake users, I am talking about high quality writers who actually have skills to promote you.

Steemhunt is doing exactly what I suggested not to be done - and that is disregarding the entire Steemit platform, every single group and even calling people out for being a member of any group - if they want to be with them. Because somehow that is a bad thing? I am also a member of my family, is that also a bad thing? Because we all should be single!!

Sorry - I'm steem-polyamorous, this sort of limitation won't work.

And I am like the minimally active right now, so if it doesn't work for me, it will not work for anyone else.

Attacked? - Voting pools didn't attack you at all, individuals who were using those pools used them because you were voting higher the members with a bigger pot- that happened - and as far as I know many didn't know it was against your rules - because you installed it afterwards.

And sometimes a person can't even get out of a pool, because they have no power over it. Admins do. Voting bots do automatic voting in most cases, so it is entirely your fault that you do not have capability or knowledge to filter those upvotes.

I have no power over a member who suddenly decides to write on Steemhunt while still using my trail. Sure, you can blacklist us, but I don't see anyone would even twitch on that at this point.

I can kick out a person if they refuse to follow the agreement, but that's it. Some admins won't go your way, because they do not care about you or your business. You didn't accomplished any relationship with those groups to take you in an account.

Accusing ENTIRE STEEMIT will result with nothing but people leaving you, in the same way I am going to leave. I see no point supporting a cause that keeps on falling. You are messing too much. If you want users and you want community to support you, at least make a minimal effort to be useful for them to grow.

And the last for the end - so many challenges to combat ?? - not as many as you think.

One and only - hire a bloody programmer and stop this drama.

I wish you all luck with your project, I am off.

Sort:  

I’m sorry if you feel that way, yet it is a decision we made because the “community” in its current size wasn’t capable to counter the rampant abuse found on Steemhunt (and historically seen on many a Steem project which benefit large delegations).

Steemhunt is still a very young platform, and also community, a platform not necessarily as mature as the skills and MO of the strongest “abusers”. End of the day the whole concept of Steemhunt is that the community decides.

The best counter to such forms of abuse, as we encountered within our ranking system, is to have a community of curators larger than any “mob” which manipulates the daily ranking boards.

Our platform has currently seen 3 different approaches already to minimize the abuse (account based voting, diversity score with a homemade Magic Sauce which is already in a third evolution, and now the introduction of Influencers).

Neither of those elements need become a for life implementation. Maybe they aren’t even the solutions you deserve, but they definitely are the solutions which were needed.

We aren’t disregarding the Steem platform, that’s impossible at this point and even when SMTs are being launched, it will still require to also reward in vests, so that is something that can not be done in entirety. There is nothing in Steem which says that everything “Steem(it)” needs to be inherited.

If that is something you think is wrong as an approach, I can see and even understand that. But you may have to quickly change tone because it won’t be long anymore before many other projects bring a similar approach. Steemit is merely the centralized initial rollout platform to gain traction to the blockchain. Steemit is not, and never was meant to be, the end goal.

Steemhunt is merely the first one. And let’s remember... times change and often change hurts.

I’m sorry if you don’t see the scale of the abuse or disagree with the direction we are heading in, much of which are reactive moves to democratize the rewards more, but rather than stating things such as “hire a bloody programmer and stop this drama”, may we invite you to actually suggest rather than merely rant.

Ranting is easy enough, doing... that’s a whole different game. You have me in Discord, feel free to suggest actual solutions we can consider.

Addendum: voting bots/pools are not penalized nowadays. Not by being kicked out, all that happens with trails is that their impact is minimalized because of the implementation of Gini-Simpson diversity index. You still benefit from their impact in the form of Steem rewards as well.

Again, let me reiterate that those moves were necessary because only very few locked out the top day after day.

No rule was acted on retroactively either. Everything was first communicated before acted upon. It is normal though that people also actually inform themselves about what rules apply. In fact, we have let slip a lot.

But ‘nuff said... as said, you can reach me in Discord.

Addendum: voting bots/pools are not penalized nowadays. Not by being kicked out, all that happens with trails is that their impact is minimalized because of the implementation of Gini-Simpson diversity index.

Good for me to know this as I'm in a curation trail that autovotes on me every time I create new steemit post. Glad to see that the index is in play and has worked well.

I am no longer your member.

Cannot delete it, so edited :)

Hi @monajam, actually I've never said you are emotional. I was just explaining how we choose some new moderators in which criteria based on my previous experiences. We feel always very thankful for your dedication, and again, at that time to select more mods, I honestly considered so long for our invitation. At that time we did have just some urgent needs for the role, and found some candidates who will provide "that criteria" perfectly. It doesn't mean that I said you are emotional... If you felt in that way, Im truly sorry for my wrong explanation.

You are still one of our top candidates who we always consider when we need the new roles. Anyway it's my fault that you disappointed about our decision. I just want to point out that it was not that meant at all. In terms of our HUNT token distribution for the community contributors, you were always the top people we want to express our thanks.

By the way, about the 15% beneficiaries, as I explained earlier, 10% is used for our operation and 5% is used for the sponsors who delegate their SPs to SH. I don't think first of all 5% for sponsors are not justifiable. They invest their precious SP to us and that voting pool is beneficial for the hunters. Utopian even set up this rate 20%. Also, the 10% operation pool will be used for us to hire more dev people/key members in our company as well as server fee, marketing costs, etc. We never hide the beneficiary. We showed that statement when hunters make the post.

Again, we still of course miss you in our community, and I can do all my best if we can help you back to our community!

Hi @project7
Thank you for your comment.
I have edited my previous comment so it does not influence people in a negative way, and I will move on. This decision is not because you sent this message. I already had decided that I will forget what has happened to me in SteemHunt and move on. I don't want to spread negativity in Steemit.
Also, I have high moral standards and Steemhunt is not good for me, where a nasty member called me 'Cunt' and I got the label 'emotional', though I did not even react on his comment; you can read the chat.
I wish you success in your business.

Thanks so much for your support. Please come back whenever you feel your time is worth to spend in SH. We always thought you were such an amazing contributor for us, and it will be always too!

.

I really think you should also provide correct context when you refer to specific statements only, @monajam.

I said you are better than leaving over what happened [and leaving everything behind]. It wasn’t meant to make you feel better.

We always valued your contributions, otherwise we wouldn’t still be talking here.

Thank you.

hm, don't know what to say, but was not a lie. anyway if you say so, then i will stop saying. thanks for your luck! :)

@misterdelegation @freedom @goodnewworld @tombstone @arama I suggest to use your steem for some nice purpose. The admins of steemhunt are insulting their members and are promoting only few people.

You may want to first inform what is the actual reason why @monajam feels she “wasted a lot of her time” and left Steemhunt before making such claims, @darlene.kitchen. Mona wasn’t insulted by anybody in the team.

Many people in Steemhunt have grown to enjoy a (zero hour contract) role, additionally all work constantly put in place is done to make the rankings more democraticized, rather than dominated by only very few strong communities.
We do not approve of “only few people” dominating the top 10.

Of course, we welcome all feedback in how we can possibly further improve that the best hunts, in term of product, come to the top - without the team benefitting a bigger upvote boost, because that’s contrary to the concept of Steemhunt. Steemhunt wants the community to decide the ranking board - community not to be confused with large voting trails or powerful local “mobs”.

I really love what you wrote here. Adding different rules every other day is not good for anything. No one has any idea what is going on. I understand everything you are saying. After reading this, I am removing my 500SP I have delegated to SteemHunt. I am glad there are others that understand some of the problems I have seen.

Hello, I've been busy for my personal occasion and sorry for late reply to your article. These are my answers to some of your arguments.

  1. We never blacklist people for "trail vote." Steemhunt actually DOES NOT COUNT auto-rail upvotes on the hunt score. ONLY UPVOTES VIA STEEMHUNT is counted for the hunt score, so we are completely fine with trail votes.
  2. Steemhunt is built on top of Steem blockchain, but we have our own community concept. It is "ranking competition based on which product is cooler." Of course we MUST do our efforts on making this happen on our platform. If we just follow Steemit's rule, what's the point to make another client website rather than using Steemit?
  3. To achieve the goal of the above, we should make a system that makes people's upvote can be related to the products, not related to votes exchanging or promoting by other channel. Again, we only care the upvotes that have made via SH, so curtails or bid bots are not the topic we should cover. The most action we work so hard to minimise is that people making a group voting pool and alt accounts, and boosting their posts by turns. Those group voting is completely regardless of the hunt quality itself. We think this will kill our core concept of SH.
  4. We don't blacklist anyone who just voluntarily upvote your friend's hunting post. We only blacklist when the person (or group) TRIED TO RAISE CIRCLE VOTING. That's why we ask an evidence for the reporters which proves that they actually tried to raise circle voting.
  5. Upvote-hunt-that-you-like-in-terms-of-coolness is of course the best thing we want to promote, but it doesn't mean that we stop you upvoting your friend's hunt. It could be applied to your DS (Diversity Score) if you constantly upvote only for specific hunters, but it doesn't mean that we stop you doing. Our blacklist system is working only for the people who shares upvotes together in exchange, or organising alt accounts to boost their own hunts in order to get the SH's upvote.

Anyway, I apologies if some of my announcement made you frustrated. The recent announcement was to point out for some people who misunderstand our new Influencer system. I will try to think more carefully about my words/language when I make an announcement.

Also, I don't think I can make everyone happy to use Steemhunt. I understand that our too-often-changes in the policy can make some people frustrated. I truly sorry for some people who were supported our project and disappointed about our operation. We will settle our algorithm and operation policy as soon as possible so that Steemhunt can be the place where product enthusiasts play around with the cool stuffs all around the world.

Again, thanks so much for your detailed suggestion, and I truly think that this kind of opinion always help us to think more diverse and review our operation. Even though you said you never come back to SH, I truly hope we can see you around in SH again and constantly give us some good opinion.

Thanks,

Blacklisting and other rules we made are not about "controlling" or "prohibiting" anything. People can still do everything on SH even though they're blacklisted.

Our rules are just for distributing our delegated voting power in a fair way.
Circle voting, vote begging, etc. You can still do whatever you want. We don't kick or ban anyone. We just choose a better members to support.

hire a bloody programmer and stop this drama

I'm not a good dev to solve all the issues like magic, and I don't think anyone can anyway. Facebook, Instagram, Reddit, tell me one community that perfectly solves abusing issues only with their system without human intervention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23