Mission:ISS - Want to go to Intl Space Station? Now, you can. (In VR)

in #steemhunt5 years ago

Mission:ISS

Want to go to Intl Space Station? Now, you can. (In VR)


Screenshots

Screenshot_20181204-200611_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20181204-200555_Chrome.jpg
View Image
Screenshot_20181204-200530_Chrome.jpg
View Image
Screenshot_20181204-200600_Chrome.jpg
View Image

Hunter's comment

Nowadays if you ask a kid what they want to be when they grow up, the answer probably will be social media celebrity. However, back when I was in school, and scientists were more cool than bankers or spoilt teens, the answer would have been an astronaut. And perhaps a lot of us do want to go into space. The race to space may be over, and the moon landing a hoax, but guys like elon musk and richard branson are trying hard to make space travel a reality.

While you wait for something real to happen, how about manning the International Space Station in Virtual Reality. That is possible with Mission:ISS. Guess what, it also lets you take a walk in space. Don't know how they bring the gravitational effect but something is better than nothing, right?


Link

http://missioniss.magnopus.com/phone/index.html


Contributors

Hunter: @karamyog



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

Awesome! Despite I most likely will never be able to pay it, I still would love to go to space once (maybe it will get cheaper in the future). This seems to be the cheapest way for now that I may be able to afford.

Haha, yeah, i dont expext that in my lifetime, i will be able to afford space travel. May be 'when lambo' and 'to the moon' can be replaced by when space. :)

It is the space and the space station that only a select few people on Earth can visit. We can indirectly experience a very special experience that no one can experience through VR.
Of course, this technology is not perfect yet, but VR technology will continue to evolve in the future, and we will be able to travel around the world comfortably in our homes through VR goggles. Whenever I think about this, I am excited about our near future will change with VR technology.

It's still reserved only for a few people as you say ...A truly unique experience, just a glimpse with this VR. ISS is the news in Canada as a Canadian cosmonaut arrived yesterday for a 6-month mission.
Thanks for sharing this hunt @karamyog

Yeah, the video on the website is mind blowing. It really feels like one is in space.

Exactly, something that very few of us can do, and very few also think about doing. Like, its so coveted a job that most of us dont even think about the possibility of being able to do it. Exploring a city before traveling, linked to real-time satellite feed is something I'm looking forward to.

Verification in 3…2…1… LIFTOFF! Thanks for following our posting guidelines. Your post has been verified and is eligible for upvote! .


Please read our posting guidelines. If you have any questions, please join our Discord Group.

Wow that sounds truly awesome to discover the ISS with all its details in a simulation for at home. If somebody would call me up, when I'm in the Orbit floating, I would say something like.... sorry guys I can't talk right now I'm working on the ISS right now, lol!!!
Unfortunately it only works with the Oculus Rift and Touch Headset together.
Great find and awesome Hunt!!!

Yeah, it'll be an epic feeling saying that to people and confusing them.

How cool is this!? Was watching another VR thing earlier today, one showing visuals to music; I think that is super cool! This one, being able to explore ISS is another super cool VR experience. Now, I consider to buy VR glasses!

Same, i have been doing a few vr hunts and the games are super tempting! A vr headset is definitely on my wishlist.

However, back when I was in school, and scientists were more cool than bankers or spoilt teens

I'm a bit younger than you. But I too can remember this time. While I was still in elementary when someone say that they want to be a scientist it was well respected. Now most kids just want to be famous or some rich jock or something. Being a geek is becoming bit more of a looser's hinges nd it into sad. But seeing places like steem Hunt where it is literally rewarded gives me hope and brightens my mood.

I remember collecting pictures odd space crafts and planets and galaxies and geeking out on them. Maybe I was born a little too early.

Don't know how they bring the gravitational effect

I remember seeing zero gravity chairs on steemit Hunt. That's a good place to start improving space simulation VR experiences.

Thanks for an amazing Hunt ☺😊😎

Aah, so you've cleared my doubt, thanks to sh! And nowadays geek is the new chique, right? Maybe that's what is needed or something like this to get kids interested in science.

I would totally like to try this out. Won't it be better if we can all live our lives in VR? :) Real life sucks anyway. cool hunt

I dont know about living life in VR. If you want to live life in VR, you can do it by living in dubai or a rich area of manhattan or mayfair. Wait, i dont think you meant that kind of VR.

I am not sure, if it can be used on any VR ? Because they say, its now available for Oculus Rift with Touch. Unfortunately Oculus Rift is not yet available to buy in INR and I am planning to buy some other VR, given the high interest by kids. So I would like to show these to kids, because they learn faster this way.

Yeah, its limited to oculus rift with touch. Maybe get a friend or friend of friend to get it from US?

@karamyog, this is a cool hunt. With this mission, you can go into space station so conveniently and learn about space in virtual reality. How great is this. Awesome.

Oh, this is cool! I love how many cool apps are being developed for VR these days, and this is definitely one of the ones I want to check out. Great hunt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94