Canarytokens by Thinkst - A quick way to detect a breach or mass surveillance

in #steemhunt6 years ago

Canarytokens by Thinkst

A quick way to detect a breach or mass surveillance


Screenshots

thinkst.png

token-thinkst.png

bababa.png


Hunter's comment

This tool can be used to generate a unique piece of information which can be sent or placed somewhere where you suspect your privacy or security has been breached. Once an attacker acts on the information, you will receive a notification. For example recently I wanted to see if my company could spy on my Slack conversations that I was having with my colleague , so I hit up canarytokens and generated a unique link which I then sent to my co worker along with a message which was something along the lines of "Let's go to North Korea I think it will be a nice place to stay. ". I then sent the message and a few minutes later I had an email to let me know that someone visited the link. Fortunately for me the only visitors that I had to my link about our North Korean visit was the Slack Bot visiting my link. If you look at the third picture on this post you will see an example of a notification for if a Canary Token was triggered. Other use cases for this would include for example to create AWS credentials(fake credentials or credentials with zero IAM priviledges) and then place the credentials somewhere in a file on a server which is being used for a honeypot. As soon as the server gets "hacked" you would receive a notification. You can even turn on web hook notifications which from my understanding means that you could use the canary tokens site to trigger slack notifications instead of email notifications.
If you would like to read more then please check:
http://blog.thinkst.com/p/canarytokensorg-quick-free-detection.html


Link

http://canarytokens.org/generate


Contributors

Hunter: @throwawayaccount



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

Great hunt @throwawayaccount! This hunt has been verified and approved by the Steemhunt Moderation Team. Great job! Happy hunting.

Hi There @throwawayaccount, We Love You and Everything You Do.
Thank you for dedicating your time and attention to the STEEM Network.
We have taken the time to gather some statistics about your posts, we hope you will find them interesting.
Average Votes Per Post: 17.35
Average Replies Per Post: 1.3
Average Post Word count: 160.65
Follow us for future benefits. Delegate some STEEM Power 1SP, 5SP, 10SP, 100SP, or Donate to Help Support
Sincerly,
@WeLoveYou.
We can also resteem and upvote more of your posts

Learn More, Read Our Introduction
If your reputation is lower than 30 resteeming with @WeLoveYou only costs 0.001 SBD

Congratulation! Your hunt was ranked in 159th place on 20 Jun 2018 on Steemhunt.

We have upvoted your post for your contribution within our community.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing your next hunt!

Want to chat? Join us on:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73