"You Are Either With Me or Against Me?" Really? Who Wants This? NOT ME!

in #steemians6 years ago

Lately and for a long time among people I have noticed that this mentality "You are either with me or against me" has in some way shown its ugly head in way tooooo many segments of societies and among communities.

First of all, let me just get this one this out there, before I continue on with this short and decisive post:

I AM AN INDIVIDUAL, SO IS EVERY OTHER PERSON ON THIS EARTH. EVERY PERSON IS UNIQUE.

I think that sums up where I stand on things as far as this topic goes.

As a cover photo for this post, I chose one that is more than appropriate,

Source of image, very appropriate source too btw

Why is this the cover image?

Well, here is why:

bloodiest regimes 20th century.GIF

Source, again a VERY GOOD READ - "DEATH BY GOVERNMENT", By R.J. Rummel

ALL OF THE ABOVE REGIMES RUN BY THE LISTED INDIVIDUALS HAD THIS MOTTO AS A FOUNDATION OF THEIR BEING:

"You Are Either With Me or Against Me?"


WHY THIS POST?

Well here it is.

Lately, I have seen some individuals start resorting to this type of mentality within communities out there.

IT IS PAINFUL TO NOTICE THIS AS MOST OF US HAVE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH THEIR REASONS FOR IT!


As as result, many of us get hurt unnecessarily, and worse to the point, many of us feel hurt by others unnecessarily.

Instead of talking things through like rational individuals, we react at the spur of the moment.

YES, WE ALL DO IT! IT IS ONLY HUMAN.

So I am not throwing the first stone at anyone here.


At the end of the day, if this type of approach is taken by any individuals out there, it will result in a lot of heartache and negativity.

Luckily none of us here (to the best of my knowledge) are not in charge of any nation and their military forces.

But still, the emotions that shall get spread around and affect many a person who has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH IT are not going to help anyone in achieving any good.


I sincerely hope that we can all be above this level of mentality which is best described and defined by the graphics I included above and the links to them.

How many times do we as humans have to make the same mistakes before than we learn that this is not the way to go in life!

WE ARE ALL INDIVIDUALS, WE ARE ALL UNIQUE AND WE DO NOT HAVE TO BE ON ANY SIDE OF ANYTHING IF WE DON'T WANT TO!

LIFE IS TOO SHORT TO WASTE ON NEGATIVITY!


Maybe this post in itself is a little too graphic and it most definitely is a result of some things that I have seen and experienced. However, I seriously do not want to see this type of mentality affect our friendships, our bonds as humans and divide us into "Them and us", when in actual fact, there is no "Them" WE ARE ALL "US".

WE ARE FIRST AND FOREMOST STEEMIANS.

Source; ME!

Steem on people and please take a moment to think about this. It isn't an attack on anyone among us, it is me expressing my personal feelings about things that I fear as far as our future goes. I just want to see things take the right path and for all our positive communities to prosper with each and every one of us as a centerpiece of each community, as individuals, the unique beings that each and every one of us are.
Thanks for reading.
Wish everyone a blessed and happy life.

Steem on!

Yours sincerely
@jackmiller (STEEM witness)

Sort:  

It's amazing how divided we've come over things that should never even be an issue. I agree that all of us are unique individuals and we need to support each other as such.

So true

Well said buddy 👊😎

I am always with you . I think it's not possible for single anyone to do somethings. For that we need a strong network.

Yes, as individuals supporting each other and respecting each others individuality. We don't have to take "sides" on everything and if either decides not to take a side on something, then the other should respect that.

We continue on as unique human beings, living together, side by side on this fragile yet sturdy earth of ours.

Very good insight into the lack of civility throughout the world today. It is, sadly, not a new phenomenon.

I would like to quote the First President of the United States, General George Washington...

The alternate domination of one faction over another, sharpened by the spirit of revenge natural to party dissension, which in different ages & countries has perpetrated the most horrid enormities, is itself a frightful despotism.

But this leads at length to a more formal and permanent despotism.

The disorders & miseries, which result, gradually incline the minds of men to seek security & repose in the absolute power of an Individual: and sooner or later the chief of some prevailing faction more able or more fortunate than his competitors, turns this disposition to the purposes of his own elevation, on the ruins of Public Liberty.

The links are to Dictionary.com as when I first read this quote I had to look these words up. I don't have the largest vocabulary!

I AM AN INDIVIDUAL, SO IS EVERY OTHER PERSON ON THIS EARTH. EVERY PERSON IS UNIQUE.

Yip, that one line nailed it!

This was well put!
This has been on my mind a lot lately. The inhumane nature of humans toward each other...

This Knight is with you on this Witness Jack Miller! And if you come across anyone against you - send them to me, I'll sort them out.

🤣

SirKnight.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60