You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I Could Change One Thing About Steem

in #steemideas6 years ago

Thanks for your entry! I love the idea of @dustsweeper - will be interesting to see how it goes... I think the reason for the dust is to stop new accounts mass spamming - the idea that if they have a higher rep/SP they are more 'trusted' and less likely to spam....

Sort:  

@conradt - yes, you make a good point about spamming. I believe in @danielsaori's post introducing it, mention was made of anti-spamming measures being taken to protect @dustsweeper. I hope it works!

Technically correct, the term dust votes is something that is not even allowed on the blockchain, it is super tiny votes and the dust vote threshold was introduced to block those. It was a way to mitigate spamming.

The dust we are talking about here, linked to the $0.02 minimum payout value, I believe was introduced to avoid too many small transactions. But I feel it is less important than the dust vote threshold, and generally speaking, it is nothing normal users need to worry about. The $0.02 value doesn't limit spamming in any way, but it can have a big impact on normal users.

Thanks for clearing it up @danielsaori sounds like a great initiative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88