Don't Loose Money by Setting posts to 100% Steem Power!

in #steemit-help6 years ago

I'm seeing it happen everyday! How you ask?

What 100% Power Up pays.

Say your post makes $12. Of that you get $10 after curators get their cut.

With Steem at $2.50 each, you'd get 4 steem power or $10. Now look at what you'd get from a 50/50 payout split where half is steem power and half are steem dollars.

What a 50/50 post pays.

We'll use the same scenario. You made $12 on the post and got $10 after curators.

Half goes to steem power. I.e. $5 = 2 steem power @ $2.50 each.

Half come as steem dollars. But steemit pays this as if one steem dollar equaled one US dollar. So you get 5 SBD.

To be conservative, right now one steem dollar is worth $10 US. So your 5 SBD earn you $50 US.

The same post, set to 50/50 payout just earned you $60 instead of $10.

Don't loose out on your fifty bucks!

And of course the obligatory kitty pic!
Hard at sleep...





Image Sources:
Image from pixbay.com

Sort:  

I'm going to be a complete newbie and ask how do I set my payout structure?!? I remember hearing about it my first week and have since been learning so much about everything else that I completely forgot that you can do this. Mine started out 50/50 but seems to be about 65/35 right now. But the higher % is going to SBD.

Oh, you're fine. Definitely worth asking.

To set the payout type (100% SP, 50/50, Decline) on a post, just click the "Rewards" box in the bottom right of the editor. (Same idea on comments.)

Now, it does default to 50/50 and it will remember your selection after it's changed. Regarding your concern that your's isn't set 50/50...

  • Don't worry, you are set correctly to 50/50. If you weren't you wouldn't be getting any SBD at all.
  • The reason your seeing this strange split is due to 50% the post value (after the curator cut has been taken) going into Steem Power at the 3.5 day average market rate of Steem. The other 50% then goes into SBD.

So say that you have a $12 post and you get $10 after the curator cut is taken out. $5 will go towards Steem Power at say $2.50 per Steem. So you would get 2 SP. Now the other $5 goes into SBD, but instead of using a market rate, it uses $1 USD = 1 SBD...hence you'll get 5 SBD.

However with SBD going for at least $10 right now, you're getting $50! I've been exchanging my SBD into Steem lately at around 5 or 6 Steem for 1 SBD.

Ok. That makes sense why the payout appeared to change.

I swear I’ve never seen the 50/50 when blogging or typing comments but it’s right there. 🙄

Hehe, it's all good. There's so many other things going on, plus trying to format, spellcheck, get links, etc it's understandable.

If it's helpful, THIS was the last in a series of guides I wrote months back. You'll find links for the older ones at the bottom. :)

Great! I'm sure they will be helpful!

Great advice. I don't think a lot of the steemit community factored this logic into their posting payout decisions.

I'm sure there's a lot of people who didn't understand the effects it had. We see a $2.50 payout on a post, but in reality that's at least $10 USD worth in just the SBD. :D

All we can do is spread the word and try to help them.

Exactly!!!! Get 10x the steem on the 50% steem dollar ratio 👍👍👍

I meant 10x-12x ratio on the 50% Of rewards paid in steem dollars

yeah that's a good point you made there. Hopefully SBD will go down and the Steem raise so there will be more investing stimulus. Right now Powering up makes absolutely no sense. Great post!

You can still power up. Just transfer your SBD from your post to an exchange and then purchase STEEM with the proceeds. Then power up.

Exactly and at this value we get 5x as much

hey thanks for the tip :)

Exactly! Ty!
Often I just use the internal market and change the SBD to steem. I avoid any fees that way. At least till it does have to go to an external exchange.

Ive even borrowed STEEM and im upvoing all my own comments for a change so I can power up quickly while SBD is so high! I plan on sticking around on Steemit for along time.

I'm still very confused by all the currency stuff so thank you for this, I learn a little more for each day!

Basically keep rewards setting at 50%/50% not 100% steem power. The steem dollars are way over valued there dollar peg so u can turn your 50% reward in steemdollars into 5x the steem power due to them being valued higher

Thank you, wish I knew this earlier... but now I do, thanks to you.

especially now with the SBD being what it is ...great point to remind everyone.

Thanks for the simple to the point explanation. #crypto #currency #sbd #steempower #steemon

Excellent reminder for everyone. The current SBD price is amazing!

Oh definitely! I've been amazed that it's stayed up this high for this long. I'm definitely not complaining though. Lol

No one is complaining!!!

totaly agree! steem will boom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63