Steemit Search Sucks... 7 Simple Tips instead of just complainingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-help7 years ago

After writing my #introduceyourself post I read tons of content because I had so many questions. In fact it was so much that I couldn't always remember where I found what.

I tried the Steemit search which is just a basic Google Custom Search but as you can guess you need to have a very good search query to get the results you want.


#1 - Search by a Range of Numbers


I remembered a post by @jerrybanfield who made a live-stream about up-voting a huge amount of dollars but I wasn’t sure how much. So, I used a range of numbers for that:

$1000..$2000 upvoting

The results did not only include the original post but also a follow up post with his results:


#2 - Search Text in a Post


Jerry (@jerrybanfield) also mentioned his friend @jo3potato who wrote an article how he bought Litecoins, changed them to Bitcoins and then to Steem.

allintext: "coinbase account" "credit card" litecoin

You’ll see that you sometimes need to search inside posts because the headline is "special":


#3 - Search Only in Post Titles


The idea for writing this article came while searching for the best time to post an article:

allintitle: best time post

Here’s the result:


#4 - Combine Title Search and Range of Numbers

This is perfect to find e.g. Top 10 posts. I’m currently reading "My Top 10 Cryptocurrency Fails" by @jerrybanfield:

allintitle: "top 8..10" steemit


#5 - Search by Users


You can also use usernames or tags if you remember e.g. that @teamsteem posted a tip about the picture size you should use in your posts:

aspect ratio "@teamsteem"

Here’s the result:


#6 - Search Only in Post URLs


I love the photos by @stevenjmagner and wanted to know if he made a specific photo without looking through his entire timeline:

allinurl: milky way stevenjmagner

Please have a look at his photos. They are awesome:


Google.com Works Too


You can also go to any search engine and use operators in the search field:

intitle:"top 8..10" steemit inurl:steemit.com

Google.com offers more ways to filter the results e.g. you can filter the results for a specific period of time.


Helpful Posts I Found


While I was looking for the posts above I also found those articles:



Thank you for reading, take care.

Andy (@whynot)


Sort:  

Thank you @whynot
I am a newbie, too so sometimes I have problems to orientate on Steemit. This helps a lot. Will use in future.

Thank you @cryptogirl1

I just followed you because of your latest blog post "If Steem(it) do not change, it won't survive! Opening debate".

I read a few other posts regarding the current problems of Steemit today e.g. from @davebrewer.

I hope the team behind Steemit resolves those issue, e.g. user friendliness, finding stuff, easy on-boarding and a possibility to stop bullying / seeing the same people on the trending page.

Following you, too. Looking forward to read awesome posts from you @whynot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43