Roasted Pumpkin and Chickpea Salad with Maple Mustard Dressing

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

DSCF6008.JPG

Who's up for a roasted pumpkin salad for lunch? You can eat this one hot or cold. Delicious either way. Though pumpkin might be an autumn veggie, we have them here all year round. And I love them. especially when roasted.

Are you a pumpkin lover too? If you are then you surely have to try this recipe. Though I couldn't find a pomegranate on the market this time, I would make a lovely addition to this salad.

Ingredients (serves 3)


For the roasted pumpkin and chickpeas


2.5 cups pumpkin, cubed
1.5 cup cooked chickpeas
1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried oregano
Sea salt and pepper to taste

For the salad


3-5 cups salad greens of your choice
1/2 cup spring onion, finely chopped

For the dressing


1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 lime, juice only
1/2 tbsp maple syrup or honey for non-vegans
1/2 tbsp mustard
1.5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt and pepper to taste

DSCF5993.JPG

Directions


  1. Preheat the oven to 200C or 400F.
  2. Add pumpkin, chickpeas, and herbs to a baking sheet. Drizzle with cooking oil and toss to coat. Roast for 20-30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, combine all dressing ingredients in a bowl, except the oil. Mix well and slowly add the oil while mixing to incorporate. Set aside.
  4. When the pumpkin is soft, add salad greens to a plate or bowl. Top with roasted veggies and spring onions. Drizzle with dressing and serve.

DSCF5992.JPG

DSCF6002.JPG

Enjoy the rest of this beautiful day! We are eating out tonight with some good friends ღ ღ ღ


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

You must be a fellow Canadian to incorporate Maple Syrup into your recipe. It looks amazing and absolutely going to give this a try when my pumpkin is ready to harvest in October. Upvoted and following

Belgian living in Cambodia. But I love maple ;) A friend from Canada actually sources it for me. Never saw it coming in a can before but it is delicious and 100% plant-based ;)

Got my vote! Great recipes, made a follower out of me. Planning on trying these recipes in the future.

Thanks @recan. I hope you like them too. Let me know what you think of them. Your feedback is much appreciated. have a beautiful day ;)

Yummy salad I bet with some very easy to acquire ingredients too.

Yep very easy to make and source. Thanks for your comment ;)

I am soooo hungry right now Amy! :) woah, and the mainstream media says you need animals to get enough proteins... :D This is the type of food I wanna digest ;)

Thanks @litokarlegend for your comment! The mainstream media is so wrong about so many things hehe.

Excelente post, muy interesante, gracias por compartirlo.

Saludos :)

wow this is awesome and healthy too...a good adress for great foods!!! keep it up my dear Amy.

Thanks my friend! Enjoy the rest of the week.

same here my dear one...more success to you

I have to try this recipe!! It sounds delicious!

Thanks @margaretmendel! You won't regret trying this one. Roasted chickpeas and pumpkin are so yum!

That dressing may go perfect with everything. :) I may try to do a chickpea roasted recipe using it. :)

Thanks for your comment. I'm sure you will love this one. Maple-mustard combo and chickpeas are so good.

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post, very beneficial for us It seems sweet mmmmm

Thanks @lahcen80. We loved it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68