Steemit Iron-chef round 10 : RAW All Natural VEGAN red velvet mini cakes + strawberry cream

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

redvelevetcake.jpg

I know I said in the last round of the #steemit iron-chef challenge by @progressive-chef that I wasn't entering this week because I'm flying to England and won't have my normal kitchen, but when I saw it was a Monochrome theme, I had to enter because I had been thinking to try and make a version of the red velvet cake for a while, this was the perfect opportunity! I'm actually flying tomorrow, so I was under pressure again, I always have a habit of leaving things to the last minute. I've always been this way, in my studies and most life activities!

red6.jpg

YES these delicious ripe and tasty strawberry's are in season here, They are called Del Maresme strawberries because that is the stretch of coast line they are growing on (where I happen to live). They grow on hill sides overlooking the sea, under covers and unfortunately not organic but they are fresh, local and good quality and perfect for the monochrome challenge. I also grabbed plums and dried cranberries and of course the BEETROOT needed for the natural food coloring for this beautiful cake.

strawberry1.jpg

Trust me you can't taste beetroot at all and because I don't have an oven, these will be raw cupcakes. Actually being raw is a lot healthier because you get all the vitamins from the food instead of it being cooked out!

redvelvet.gif

🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓❤️ 🍓

Ingredients

For the cupcake

Beetroot
Dates
Agave nectar
Lemon Juice
Hazelnut oil
Raw cacao butter
Raw cacao powder
Almond and Coconut pulp after making nut milk

red17.jpg

Once all combined they are ready to eat! you can chill but they hold together fine. You might want to use a cake tin or muffin to shape them, I don't have either of these (because of the lack of an oven) but I found some cupcake holders and used them to shape the cakes, I wanted to make them look organic and all different instead of streamline perfection.

red3.jpg

Here's where things got a bit experimental I created several different purees to compliment the dish, using cranberries, plumes, strawberries and I also made a coconut and strawberry cream. They were all different shades of the red spectrum and different consistencies. I played around with some patterns on the plate. It took me a few goes, to get some nice shapes, I could do with some squeezey bottles and brushes but i'm only using a spoon so it can be a bit tricky.

red20.jpg

Even though its a monochrome challenge, I decided to leave the green tops on the strawberries, just to give the strawberries definition in the photo. I tried a few without the tips but I just didn't think it looked quite right. I hope this is still valid anyway. It's 9.30pm already and I've still got to pack my bags so this is going to be my dinner tonight, I guess because it contains a vegetable it can count as a main meal >< It taste bloody delicious so i'm not complaining :)

red2.jpg

Thank you to @progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

healingfoodschallengexs.jpg

Check out my healing foods challenge, a place to share experiences and recipes on self-healing, and also have a chance to win SBD

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revlution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

What a beautiful and delicious result ... love your red creation !

Thanks u they were just the best :=)

You really know how to create beautiful dishes and desserts!!

What a compliment :) I don't always find it that easy tho. It takes a while to get it alright

Yay practice make you to a master! All the professionals where beginners once, so just continue learning. Love to follow your journey here on steemit!❤❤❤

May I respectfully ask a favor? I would like to have one ☝️ piece, please!

Hehe hehe there are at least 3 waiting for u, one is most certainly not enough :)

😁👍🏻

wow these look amazing, wil definitely give them a go, think I have all the ingredients too x

I haven't given weights or anything because I think u can alter it to your preferences. I only used half a beet because I didn't have many dates, will at least need to be refrigerated because they got a bit soft

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

These look delicious little strawberry cups

Yum yum indeed, natural and healthy too

Wow, I love this foody art!! I believe art can exist in any form and shape! thank you so much for sharing such an inspiration - I guess now I have to head to find strawberries!!

Image Source

Yes I see creativity everywhere. Love this picture :)

yes, creativity rules this world!!

It's nice to know somebody else is a life member of the last minute club! ; )
It's great that your strawberries are in season, too. Those muffins do sound great with all that fruit in them! Enjoy your trip!

Thank u. Trip almost over now, can't wait to go back to Spain where the food is good bit it's a sad time now in Cataluña, where I live.

This looks bloody wonderful...Raw cupcakes, very creative indeed my friend! How I am happy to see your entry finally!
Thanks so much for showing so much interest in SIC my friend!
Hope you had a nice flight and great travel!
Btw I love eating raw beets!

thank u chef! i agree raw beets taste better than cooked!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43