Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #10 : Kimchi-Roasted Potatoes

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

Once again, I'm entering the Steemit Iron-Chef contest. This is my fifth entry, so I guess while I got a late start, I've been here for half the contest.

This week I made an appetizer! Potatoes are a rough theme-ingredient because everything you can make with them is great. I expect the winning entries to be both visually stunning and sound like they'd be really delectable. My entry is at the really delicious and passingly pretty, but poorly photographed stage.

IMG_7193.JPG

But read on because making these is easy and as I mentioned, they're super-yummy.

The only problem is the time. See, you need to ferment the potatoes raw. I only gave them 48 hours in the kimchi and brine, but double that would have been better and longer yet maybe better. I think a week is a good target. Here's what I started with a few days ago (the two lidded jars are kimchi):

IMG_7180.jpg

First, I washed the Peruvian purple potatoes and cut them into largish bites -- good for roasting quickly and good enough for eating.

I cut the knob of ginger, lengthwise into four l strips. I half-heartedly peeled it first, but I wanted to leave some of the peeling and the microorganisms that were living on it. I dropped them into the bottom of the half-gallon jar with a couple cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed but left mostly intact, and a big forkfull of ripe kimchi. Then I layered about a third of the potatoes in, dropped in another four garlics and big forkfull of kimchi and a glug of kimchi juice from the finished jar, and filled the jar up to the neck with potatoes. The potato chunks act like a screen to keep the bits of kimchi below the surface once the brine goes in.

IMG_7181.jpg

I mixed up a heavy brine of about two Tbs Real Salt to 3 C of water. and filled the jar. Here's a hint: At the top of the jar, when I was putting in the potatoes, I arranged them so that there was a cavity at the center-top so that I could place a small jar in the neck of the big jar, to keep the produce under the level of the brine. In a two-day ferment there wasn't much worry, but if I'd been leaving these for a week, this step would be very important to prevent mold-growth. Here's what that looked like last night when I was getting ready to cook:

IMG_7187.jpg

The rest of this is simple. Drain the potatoes in a sieve, pat them dry with a kitchen towel, spread them on a lined baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and seasoning, then bake at 300 for a bit less than an hour.

Here I am draining them. I tossed the ginger planks and the big pieces of kimchi because I was tight on time, but used all the small bits. (Better would have been to slice the cabbage up thin and roast it under the taters.)

IMG_7189.jpg

Here, I've spread the potatoes and the garlics in the kimchi residue out on the silpat and drizzled with a bit of oil. I'm holding up the brand of gochugaru that I but on Amazon. Even though I've used commercial kimchi for this dish I make my own several times each year and keep this product on hand for that.

IMG_7190.jpg

And finally, it's been roasted! The soak followed by the roast causes a lot of sub-surface bubbling as the water turns to steam, which produces a great texture. The salt in the brine imparts such a nice, crisp salt to the potato, that no one wants to salt the dish (everyone salts potatoes!). These were so good!

IMG_7191.jpg

I really didn't do my presentation any favors by being in a hurry with the plate photography! My counter was covered with stuff, the lighting is goofy, It wasn't as obviously bad on the little phone screen as it is here on the big screen, everyone wanted me to serve dinner! So, it is what it is. I used these little square plates (they have dice-pips on them, but I covered that up) and garnished with three kinds of fresh basil leaves from our AeroGarden. They were prettier than my image implies, and always more important to me, really tasty!

I also made sure to split the few garlics up evenly among the family -- they were a big hit. :-)

Sort:  

Congratulations @clweeks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a great idea to brine the potatoes. I am going to try this method. I just eat the kimchi right out of the container. It is such a perfect food. Great entry.

I have a love-affair with kimchi. I used to eat it with rice or oat groats for breakfast buy my coworkers complained about the smell. :-)

That is so funny! That happens to my wife too. People complain that her food stinks! But it is very healthful. They would benefit from eating some!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

sounds interesting ... would love to have a taste ... here I can rarely get my hands on the beautiful purple potatoes ... and you are right taste is king ...

Such a great idea to ferment the potatoes- I love kimchi and the fact that you managed to 'kimchi up' the potatoes is awesome!

I have never had a try in fermenting potatoes before...now that i saw how you did it, I will surely have a try soon my friend!
Taste is the most important thing when cooking, photos can always be improved afterwards!

I love kimchi too and made it myself at home several times. Combined with potatoes prepared this way: great idea!

It was really good. I think I'm going to put up another jar full this weekend and then serve it the following weekend so it has more time to get funky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73