You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #01: Pine Pollen Pasta with Puffball Caviar and Fermented Redbud Flowers

We live in a grove of pines, though I have no idea what their variety is. We occasionally find clumps of their pollen on the ground in spring but probably not enough for this recipe. Their branches are all much too high to try to collect it any other way. How do you collect your pine pollen? Your Pine Pollen Pasta has piqued my interest.

Sort:  

I find trees where the branches are closer to the ground. Then I take the male pollen cones off before they open all the way. I let them sit on a big tray to finish opening up and release their pollen. Here's a video I made about how to do it. It works for any of the Pine family (Pinaceae), although every species tastes a little different. How To Harvest Pine Pollen I do hope you can try some pine pollen sometime. It's neat stuff. Great for any baked goods and pancakes, too!

I'll have to keep my eyes peeled for pine groves that have lower branches and then come back next spring! Is it very expensive to buy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84