🐼 Steemit Iron Chef - Act 1 Round 3 - Cucumber Salad

The theme this week is cucumber. I love cucumbers and love them best raw. I decided to make a cucumber salad.

My Ingredients:

Along with the theme of the week cucumber, I added yellow pepper, onion, carrot, tomato, beetroot, olives and feta cheese

Whilst making it I found myself really desirous of eating it. I was actually craving this salad. Made me think of many years ago whilst I stayed with my cousin Johnny who is the CEO of Famous Foods in South Africa who approached me one day and asked me to teach his housekeeper how to make a salad but to make it look different.

At first I was confused but he said she always makes a Greek salad and it always looks the same. Teach her to cut up the vegetables and salad ingredients in different ways. Today, after many years I remember his frustration and realise that all he wanted was for the salad to look appealing. So, I guess I have him to thank for many years now of creating salads that always look different.

He is so right - salad even tastes different when presented in different ways. For example if you cut a tomato in slices or if you chop into squares or cut in wedges, it really does taste different. Not sure if I'm making any sense.

I arranged my ingredients for a photograph and only after taking the pic did I realise that I had left out the main ingredient . I have forgotten to get my proof photo before and had to reconstruct a dish - but never have I forgotten the main ingredient - haha 😂


My proof photograph

Needless to say I tucked in to that salad and made myself some sweet potatoes in my new oven - delivered yesterday and installed by my landlord - bless his heart. Cooking is going to be so much more fun now.


Tested my new oven with some sweet potatoes wrapped in foil - they were delicious


Out with the old


In with the new

smallpanda (2).jpg

Sort:  

What is the difference between a cucumber salad that is prepared in a home kitchen, a casual restaurant and a fine dining restaurant? I would say that the main difference is knife cuts. They all contain the same ingredients. It is the attention to detail that elevates a dish from the home kitchen to a work of art. While your salad was prepared at home you definitely elevated it far beyond. You understood what your cousin Johnny was longing for. I love the different sizes and shapes of the cuts you made. This adds texture to the dish. From the chunky tomatoes to the strips of pepper and the peeled shavings of cucumber. This attention to detail is what makes a humble salad into a masterpiece. Well done!

Thank you @chefsteve - it's comments like the one above that keep one going when the going gets tough as the expression goes. I will now - even more - take care on my knife cuts and be more aware of my presentation going forward. I appreciate your taking the time to comment and "make my day"

Well put @chefsteve - very encouraging comments for @pandamama

beautiful and yes it does make perfect sense to me ! ... and congrats on the new oven ... I hope it will aid in producing many more wonderful dishes for us all to enjoy seeing !

This is so true about the vegetables cuts my friend! Different way of cutting really gives you a different taste of the whole dish!
I will take 'garlic' as example : sliced/crushed/chopped/finely chopped etc... all give out different taste/flavor!
After the refreshing smoothie, here we go with a super fresh salad beautifully done!
Keep rocking my friend!

Thank you @progressivechef for the positive comments

Looks tasty - but I'm not fond of beetroot @pandamama

Just like I didn't like cabbage and now I love it @leelektrik

I like healthy food thank you @pandamama

Yes I do too @askmee - but I also love sweet things unfortunately

oh! its not good for your health , try to avoid it

That makes so much sense about food tasting different the way the ingredients are cut. I see the same with cooking onions. The cut makes a big difference. Your salad looks so nice!

Thank you @haphazard-hstead appreciate your feedback

Looks delicious, so sad I wasn't able to share the salad @pandamama. Awesome to have a new oven as well!

Yes, I'm looking forward to cooking up some meals for my two sons now - lucky mother

Looks refreshing colorful! Very pretty! Do cucumbers grow on Cyprus at this time of year? Is it warm enough?

I didn't realise that cucumbers needed a warm climate - but yes, there are local and imported cucumbers available @pusteblume. Thank you for your positive comments

😄 At least no frosty nights like right now. Around here they only grow in summer!

Something wonderful and beautiful @pandamama

Your welcome @pandamama I have the honor to follow up your account

wonderful and beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81