Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 - Carrotcake SconessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

Carrotcake Scones

This is going to be a step by step sort of thing. These turned out better than expected and without that oily crap residue that a typical carrot cake leaves behind.

First, take a big carrot, peel that sucker and grate it like this.

Then take about a cup and a half of flour. Can't tell you exactly how much as I basically emptied the remnants out of one of the giant flower bags we use. Sift that shit or you'll end up with bugs in your scones. You don't want extra protein.

Add some sugar, don't ask me how much, whatever you feel like. Add a bit of baking powder and a pinch of salt. (The sugar looks darker in the picture as it's organic cane sugar. Why? Because that's how I roll.)

Then get a block of butter and use that same cheesegrater to grate the butter, about half a cup of solid butter worth. When you grate it it'll be more than half a cup obviously.

Then add your carrot and raisins. You can add whatever else your kids want to throw in. Just make sure it's edible first.

Add some cream and milk, 50/50 ratio. Easiest to do this while mixing so you can tell the consistency.

Mix it up, make a ball, flatten ball. Make the kids do that part to keep your own hands clean. They can't screw it up.

Cut the flat dough into somewhat respectable scone-shaped pieces or whatever your kids want, which will probably be cat shapes with your luck.

Put on parchment paper in oven on whatever the default setting is and leave between 15 and 20 minutes.

That's the finished product. Unsure how many were produced but at this current time of posting, half were eaten.

Sort:  

These look great! I used to make scones when I worked for an Irish Bakery. Never tried a carrot scone but I imagine it would be good toasted with butter.

It ended up working out pretty well, goes with everything.

"The sugar looks darker in the picture as it's organic cane sugar. Why? Because that's how I roll."

I really enjoy the way you write recipes. lol. You make me smile. Those scones look good. I love a good scone but have never made them myself.

We make them due to kiddo being too young to mess with eggs in dough. If I can make this anyone can.

Half we're eaten 😜! Ha! Not surprising as your carrotcaake scones look good @saiku!

Thanks man. I feasted like a king.

As usual you are present with your fun packed entry! I always get so much pleasure reading your post my friend! I really love your style!
I've never ever thought about doing a carrot scone before, you gave me a wonderful idea to try some time!
They really look yummy my friend!
Thanks again for the support and hope you are enjoying the contest!
@progressivechef

Anything can go into a scone. Carrots, car batteries, you name it. They can honestly use a bit of a kick, maybe from ginger, but otherwise it was a successful mission.

very yummie looking

Many thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75