Observations: Why drawing a steemit logo isn't proof of authenticity.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-verification7 years ago (edited)

Sherlock Holmes Header

This one is going to be a bit funny, in a sad way.

The Situation:

It's now a little over a week ago that I had posted about a rather ridiculous case of impersonation.

The accounts of @ravenrillay and @rashidminhas were putting on quite the show, almost too absurd to be taken serious, built on sockpuppet accounts, plagiarized content and false identities.

Since then, or so the story goes, someone told the real Rashid Minhas what happened, and he himself decided to sign up for steemit. He even made sure to give us full proof and went to lengths to verified himself in a DTube video!

Now isn't that great news for once?

Well no, unfortunately not.

My Observations:

I'll tell this story exactly how it unfolded itself to me.

It all started just a few hours ago.

"Ding-Dong"

A sound that has already become all too familiar. I hear it several times throughout the day whenever another concerned steemian opens a new conversation with me on steemit.chat.

So what is it this time? Something interesting maybe? No, it appears to be just another referral link post, nothing special or alarming, actually something that I myself don't have much of an opinion about at all. I kindly pointed the messenger towards the #steemcleaners-public channel for that he may discuss his concerns further over there.

I continued minding my own business, filing old leads, classifying new ones and checking for something to reveal itself from within my open files. The usual detective work.

A few uneventful hours passed.

"Bleep!"

The concerned steemian from earlier was back. This time he notified me about a proper serious spammer, @tijnski. That account had been posting the exact same pointless post over and over for three weeks already, nice catch! Albeit, yet again, nothing that looked like it needed any further investigations by myself.

But, before I would just send this onwards to the @steemcleaners again, who was this zealous steemian, so busy blowing the whistle today?

I was quite surprised to see:

@uzairalone was the real Rashid Minhas

He had the legacy facebook profile to prove it, and he even uploaded a verification video to DTube!

I'll be honest, I felt quite flattered at first.

Did my recent post really miraculously end up in the hands of the actual victim? Remember, I wasn't able to locate Rashid's facebook account back then and didn't notify him myself.

In Rashid's introduction post, he said that someone had sent him a WhatsApp message about the whole situation, and that had brought him here. Yes, that might actually be possible. After all, despite not finding his facebook profile, I was at least able to identify his identity and show a link to the "real" Rashid Minhas' business listing in my post.

A sense of pride and awe struck me.

But, the moment didn't last.

It's all a bit too good to be true isn't it?

When you talk to scammers a lot, you develop a certain kind of cynical skepticism.

What caught my eye immediatly, @uzairalone should be a complete steemit beginner, yet he's already posting his verification straight to DTube and uses the full set of voting-bot support by randowhale, minnowbooster, discordia, minnowsupport, minnowpond, nettybot, more than I could have named from the top of my head. Somebody must be a quick learner here, he's a mind-reader after all, right?

But a brief look into @uzairalone's account history on steemd.com gave it away instantly. First, this account is a day older than my original post unmasking the "imposter", next, look at this:

@uzairalone early account history

@uzairalone originally labelled himself to be a "photographer graphic designer traveler" accompanied by a profile picture showing a boy with a camera. His first two comments, before even making a post of his own, were already upvoted by none other than the infamous duo @ravenrillay and @rashidminhas.

He then suddenly changed his profile information to reflect the mind-reader Rashid Minhas we already know. You might have guessed it already, in the meantime I had posted my Cookie Crumbs unmasking his previous self.

What was he thinking?

I have absolutely no Idea!

I tried to play along for a while and continued chatting with @uzairalone.

After I expressed my "joy" over the situation, Rashid thanked me several times for catching his imposter and soon enough asked me to verify his identity for the greater public.

It was time to confront Rashid with his own idiocy. He tried making some excuses and twisted the story for a while, but when I showed him exactly what I had gathered so easily in his account history, he only said:

Oh

I must say, I've not had many chances to get a good laugh in my occupation here so far, but here it was.

After this he asked me to give him another chance. He even had the audacity to ask me to write a post for him so he could then share it. Yeah, I have no idea how that's supposed to work like.

In a way I feel sorry for this guy, something is clearly not right with him, but I don't think we need to be nice to pathological liars here.

@uzairalone only wanted friends

The Conclusion

A verification just doesn't tell the whole story.

You can draw steemit logos next to your username as many times as you want. If your account tells a different story than you, something probably isn't right.

yours,
Sherlock

P.S.: By the way, the spammer @tijnski, correctly identified by @uzairalone, could still need some flags, too!


Actions speak louder than verifications and the blockchain does not twist facts.

Just because a person is real, it does not make them genuine!

Sort:  

I don't get it, why impersonate this guy?

Is he famous in Pakistan?

No, he is that guy.

He previously started an account with his real name @rashidminhas, but then soon changed face and profession on that account while also creating a fake @ravenrillay account impersonating the adult actress.

When those accounts were busted, he switched to this account, and came up with the story how his identity was stolen before (by himself actually though).

It's probably to absurd to make sense.

It's probably to absurd to make sense.

Haha!

Are you going to investigate this or do you want me to explain it for you?

Are you going to investigate this or do you want me to explain it for you?

Sad..so sad.

Well, I helped spank..uh.flag tij... a bit. Hopefully that account will shut up for a while!

Carry on.

Thanks for your support!

tips hat

Are you going to investigate this or do you want me to explain it for you?

Hi, Can you weigh in on a little controversy! Apologies if this is not the right method to contact you. But it was suggested you might want to weigh in on a little issue. https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptick/help-me-report-the-all-in-one-social-networks-aios-is-an-ico-scam

Thanks, any method of contact is appropriate.

Indeed I want to thank you very much for pointing this out to me. It is a great addition to one of my bigger files I've been carrying for a while now!

I will take a look later and weigh in if I feel I can say something on the matter!

These are actually very good reads. You make Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Steemit proud! Keep up the good work Holmes!

Thanks!

tips hat

Are you going to investigate this or do you want me to explain it for you?

Ahahaha

You know, there's been a few times I've seen so called 'New Users' who have an incredible grasp of Steemit and the associated support programs given they've supposedly only joined that day or at best a couple of days ago. I've been on here since April and I'm still struggling with all the features.

I was always "Well how the hell did they know to stick themselves in #introduceyourself" on their very first day? Now I know. LOL

Oh, and I always sneer at these people who photoshop their photos and video's to sport the Steemit logo, "You couldn't even be bothered to buy an actual Steemit tee-shirt. Just paste the logo over your photo and wait for the gullible to upvote it."

Rant Over. :-)

Yes, if you want to catch some cheaters, just go to #introduceyourself and look around. That seems to be a haystack made from needles lately!

Are you going to investigate this or do you want me to explain it for you?

Always fascinating to see what people do with their free time. Thanks for another entertaining and informative post @sherlockholmes!

Apparently this clown thinks he's Prof. Moriarty trying to outwit Sherlock at his own game. Good thing he's rich because he sure as hell isn't smart.

As always keep up the good work Sherlock. The real community here at steemit appreciates it. Especially when it's good for a laugh.

Good thing he's rich because he sure as hell isn't smart.

Well said! Thanks for the support!

I think it is the first time I've had someone ask to ban themselves on another account!

"Sorry, could you please flag my past lies so that I have room for making up new ones? Yes, that would be nice!"

I wonder what kind of magic tricks he'll come up with for the next round.

Good job bud..keep it up. My nly support is to throw in good posts about your work here.
I referenced you in my latest post about flag / downvoting war in steemit-feel free to check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62