Steemit Webcomics Comic Cover Contest - Round # 1 Checkpoint Post

We're half way for this round #1! You still have plenty of time to participate on this fun contest :D

You can see all the details, prizes and rules of this contest here.

Let's do a quick recap of the entries so far:

@crittercrats with cover: One eyed Willy the Pirate

And that's it :P so far we just have one entry. However, what an entry!! I'm very impressed with @crittercrats for coming up with this amazing cover! I love the originality of the cover, yet it still has the ressemblance of the referenced cover.

That's it everybody. Let me know if you have any suggestions or comments regarding this contest. I really hope this one can take off and become something trendy :D!

Remember, I'm running a Discord server and also a Facebook group with @jonathan-greer, in case you want to join and we can talk about webcomics and even collaborate to make ones.

If you also like to make webcomics or comic strips, you can use the tag #steemit-webcomics

Until next time!

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Very important announcement

This contest is part of my level-up project for @themesopotamians. You can learn more about this community and how it works here. This is a wonderful project focused on helping steemers grow :)

Sort:  

I'm praying to god Im not messing up anything this time ;;;-;;;

Anyways thats my entryyyy hope it kinda fits in the refference!!
https://steemit.com/steemit-webcomics/@maya525/still-holding-on-to-you-art-process-contest

really cool art and take on the cover, however the theme was pirates :( so unforunatelly I can't take this entry for a valid winner, but I'll mention it for sure :)!! I'll see if next round I'll do a no theme but still follow a reference cover for inspiration

Wait really? XD ah crap LOOL I thought it just following a cover, alrighty then no worries I'm probably blind or something and didn't see the theme of it lel
And thanks cobs haha i didnt even see it and youd mention it lel ❤❤

lol haha maybe it's my fault for coming up with crazy ideas for the contest xD but don't worry I'll try again a no theme next time

I think the focus on you picking one cover everyone does is better than everyone picks any cover they want, however I think having it all focused on one topic doesn't allow for too much differences in what everyone would product.

Or, the otherside would be you choose the topic (ie "Pirates") and everyone would pick any comic book cover they would want to put a pirate touch on. Doing either way I think would expand the ability for all the creatives to get a little more personal more so than just their artistic style alone.

For example, @crittercrats killed the Spider-Man homage with Pirates, and I know there is many other pirates and even other kind of directions. Like I was thinking piracy pirates as one interpretation... however other than that or butt pirate there isn't too many directions to go. I'm a fan of this contest, I know the first run was wild with interpretation lol so I see you did it different this round.

that's true, well that's what i first intended in the beta test, with an open theme but people interpreted that as choosing any type of cover.... so we can try that again, just gotta make sure to pick my words wisely

I'll tell you what though since I had made that comment 7 days ago, other entries have come in. And while I kind of stick to the original thought that it is a little creatively limiting, the entries that have come in all have been very varied and awesome looking.

Hola amigo @cobmaximus ,acabo de entrar a tu concurso,espero te guste con el arte no digital,espero por su comentario,saludos

si ahi lo vi, si me gusto :)

WTF, no one joined? Thats sad.

thats unexpected, this is easier than the comic contest.

hehe yeah hard to believe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73