Steemit Webcomics Funny Comic Strip Contest Week #10:Feminist Heroes for Hire

in #steemit-webcomics6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! So, been gone for a while again 😔. I am still trying to get on here every so often though! Just been a busy time with work, life, health, laundry of all things haha, and you know.

 
 
 
So this is my entry for the Funny Comic Contest hosted by @cobmaximus. These are so fun! I definitely need to work on some form sketches! That and some different cartoony faces. I think I have the same one for every character. On the plus side it's easy to recreate the same character over and over haha. You can enter with just stick figures too if you're interested!

This one was a special collaboration with @teamgirlpowa! The theme was Feminist Heroes for Hire.

I wasn't too sure what to do for this one honestly and I got a late start. Of course, after being halfway done with this one I thought of a few others I may have liked better, but, this one was already in the works and time was running out. Although, I will say, after getting it all done I like it 😊 . I just hope it fits in the guidlines. It's superhero-esque, I should say. There were a few more panels I wanted to do but didn't have time. This is a complete idea though.

Below is a bunch of rambling, if you want to skip that and go to the comic that's fine 😁

Also, take the "manly" term with a grain of salt, I'm using it for description purposes.
 
 
 
I got the idea from kind of a life experience. I have worked as a nursing aide, and so have many women in my family. I also have women in my family that have "manly" (lol) jobs. In the small town I'm from gender is not a concern for most jobs because people and jobs are a little scarce. Most women however just go straight to being a nursing aid. Granted it pays pretty decent with benefits, but the work is pretty brutal.

Now, as times have changed so have the equipment and lifting policies. Women that worked as a nursing aide maybe even ten years ago are suffering from horrible back problems in relation to that kind of work. My grandma and mother are good examples. Surgeries, medication, the works. They are doing fine otherwise.

Anyways, it's kind of a common thing that most people have thought this is easy work. I was deterred from working at a factory (from my grandfather, who's thoughts have definitely changed over the years) telling me I couldn't handle "that kind of work." Well, being as they paid more and the hours were better I got on at the factory and let me tell you what, it was WAY easier than being a nursing aid. It also still had benefits. The biggest reason I didn't stay on as a "lifer" was it was actually extremely boring. However since then I have worked at three different factories. Granted times have changed with them too and the conditions are better at most of them. Also, there ARE factories where they do very physically demanding things, but not many in my area. The one's in my area the work isn't even comparable to the work done as a nursing aide.

I think there's a stigma about work that women do being easier than work that is considered "for men." There's an article I read about a women who's husband makes more than her and she's fine with that because he busts his butt doing manual labor, and she works in a nice place as a nurse. Okay, granted, it's not fair to even compare wages at two different types of jobs. Having said that, in my opinion, physical jobs aren't just "manly" jobs, they are for certain kind of people in general. I know plenty of men who are integrating into jobs that are predominantly women, and vise versa, and that's great! If my brother and I applied for a physically demanding job, to be honest, they would hire me (no offense to him, he'll even admit he does not like any kind of manual labor) but if we were applying for a job that included running errands and working with the public, he would get it right away, I would say to hell with that! lol.

Now, my grandfather changed his mind through the years because of this, he has two sons, and a grandson. Whenever he needs the roof swept (yea, he does that lol), lawn care done, painting, moving furniture, any kind of physical help, he calls me or my mother. There are many jobs he told me I shouldn't get because of the work load, and now he asks me if I still consider them and says I would do well. I think through the years that mentality has gotten A LOT better. However, it's not completely gone. I wonder how many other women or young girls peruse a career or hell even just a job, because they were constantly told they weren't suited for job just because the work "may be too hard." Maybe my grandma and mom could have saved their back doing a "manly" job.

 
 
 

I'm not saying that women WANT to work in a "manly" job, I'm just saying that making sure they know the opportunity is there would be a step forward. I think it has definitely gotten better and is getting better. I had considered being an electrician and the field as it is now is filled with women. It's great to see a lot of women working a trade!

If you want to be a nursing aide that's awesome too! Especially if you want a good work out. I know I was lifting way over 100 pounds when I was a nursing aide. They do have better lifts now but man, there were still many times I had to lift a lot of weight. Anyway, enough of me rambling lol just some personal viewpoints. Now for the comic!
 
 
 


 
 
 

Some of the process. Still forgot to set the resolution so sorry if it's blurry. Also, my pen pressure wasn't working and I didn't want to waste time trying to figure it out, it was probably something simple. I was going to do a speed draw but with time, the rendering takes quite a while.

 
 
 



 
 
 


Thanks for looking 😁

Sort:  

I really liked this! I can relate since I've been rejected from jobs due to heavy lifting and me being a girl (although, tbf, I'm not very strong hahaha. but still at least give me a chance! Lol) That last panel of the woman overhand carrying the old woman was really funny haha. I also really enjoyed the background you gave about your family! It was heartening to hear your grandfather eventually change his mind. Thanks for joining!

Hi kid! You’ve been gone so long. Missed ya❣️My husband and I owned and ran a Pharmacy for 38 years. During that time I delivered meds to two nursing homes here in town, and I seen first hand how much lifting and physical labor goes into that job, an incredible amount. I call them angles of mercy. You have to be a very special person to work in a nursing home, not just anybody can do it. They have to do the most nastiest things imaginable. I think their amazing. I have a very close friend that has worked at a nursing home for thirteen years, she is so kind and sweet to those nursing home people, their her babies she says. I didn’t go to college, but I put Rick though college working at a factory. Loved it, I ran a 31 foot vertical band saw cutting giant blocks of foam rubber for couches, mattresses, chairs, all kinds of things. You could run it like a jigsaw saw. I got the job when I was eighteen, they hadn’t hired any woman at that time, and know women had ever run a band saw before. Luckily they had seniority privileges and if you could handle the heavy lifting you could bid on the job. When I moved away six years later the five women that they hired were still working there. Three of us were Debs, anyway we all ran saws. Minimum wage at that time was $2.10 an hour, at the factory I was making $5.35 an hour. So I was making the big bucks doing a “mans” job. Ha! A new law passed that they had to hire at least five woman. The guys that worked their hated our guts when we first worked there, but after awhile we got the respect, we were all very hard workers. I thought I’d tell you these to things. Fun to remember. Good luck friend, I couldn’t think of a comic so I decided to pass this week. Bye❤️

I miss you too! 💗 Dang @lildebbiecakes, I can see you being a tough lady! It's great how the times are changing! I mean not all women want to work at a factory, but there are ones that do, and the pay and benefits are usually great. I'm glad that women are getting more opportunities. You and your husband have quite the life! That's awesome all the stuff you have done.

Yea, I had a hard time coming up with something too, I really wanted to do one though. If I had started sooner I had a lot more ideas lol but I do like the idea behind this one. Yea, I mean, I work with people with special needs now, and I do like it. I did the athletic program and the workforce program, which actually I take clients to factories to work haha, ironic. They are great workers. Another thing about nursing homes is when the residents would pass away. I think that's about the time I decided I couldn't work in that kind of place. The first one that passed away just tore my heart. My mom still works in a nursing home and she has thicker skin than me about that. It's a hard job all around.

Yea, I've been in and out of here a lot lately. Seems like things keep popping up and before I know it it's been a week or two. Recently my grandfather has been in and out of the hospital. He wouldn't have been "in and out" so much if he weren't so stubborn, he kept getting the doctor to release him early! He went in for an infection in his hand, it was bad, and being a diabetic they were thinking surgery. Well, he went home early, got a bad stomach bug, and got so dehydrated he went back in with kidney failure. That was a huge scare! We weren't sure if it was permanent he got bad fast. But, fortunately he got back kidney function and they don't think dialysis is needed so now he's back home. Him and my grandma are so stubborn!!! Lol My mom and I are always keeping an eye out they'll let things go until it's bad, they aren't even that old really, they're in their mid sixties.

Hope all is well @lildebbiecakes

Hi dear friend! Ok this is weird, my dad who’s eighty two , he lives near Seattle Washington, just had a toe amputated because of diabetes. He as well as your grandpa got a bad infection in one of his toes( he’s prone to getting ingrown tails) and he never told anyone about it until his toe turned black and started withering away! He’s stubborn and didn’t want to go to the doctor. Rick’s going out to Seattle on the bus to help him for a few weeks to get him on a schedule. He listen to Rick. Dads lived with a gal out there for thirteen years, they’ve never married. She’s much younger than him thank God and in good physical shape. Very STUBBORN old man! So you and I’ve been going through the same thing. Wow we’re blessed they never died. Don’t you think that’s a little ironic friend? I haven’t been as regular as I’ve been on Steemit, I’ve had things going on also, and the weathers getting good too YEAH! It got 72 degrees today @renascence isn’t that awsome? I’m so happy you replied nice hearing what’s happening with you. Take care❣️

Hehe thank you for your entry!! ☺️

The main problem with men is that we also like to complain about work, that's why xD!! you are pretty badass lady yourself let me tell you that :D your comic is great :D

Congratulations @renascence! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Mehn! You're too good in artistic drawing. It would be great to know that there's a vacancy or job trials of physical exertion given to Women in your Area. Else, nursing aid seems a perfect feminine job considering that TLC is known to be a natural part of women. Thus, for getting that the caregiver is overly stressed and burdened. Most hard jobs pay more and your soon with your freedom.

Lovely comic!

I do think the type of work we think we’re capable off can be influenced at a young age. I avoid closing any career doors for my girls, so I’m careful with my language — everything is an option.

And also agree, my Mother-in-law was a nurse, she often talks about the strain and her injuries from the old days. Being a Nurse or Nursing Aide is not lightweight work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62