Steemit Webcomics Funny Comic Strip Contest Week #8: Aliens!

Hello everyone! Not sure how I'm doing on time for the Funny Comic Contest hosted by @cobmaximus. He does these about every week they are so fun! I have been a little MIA but really wanted to get one done. Even if I am late I will post this anyway, it's kind of funny hehe. I had a few ideas for this one but I went the silly route 😋.

Let's start off with a sort of off topic side story.

 
I started the day off with having problems with my tablet working with Krita! I have never had that problem. So of course, did the my intense google research not finding anything helpful. So, decided to go to Krita and maybe download it again. Krita does have a new version, although new versions always worry me. I didn't want to have to worry about bugs but though, meh, sure. So, Krita 4.0 so far is pretty good! I was having some problems with the mirror tool and ended up not using it all that much. However!!! The new way the vector layers work when I used text is AMAZING. I'm so glad I did download this because usually the text gives me a headache (which if you know me, I don't need any more headaches haha) So, finally, adding texts to the comics was SO easy. I'm very happy for that.

I wanted to show my progress and decided I would do that with OBS, which is free. It's used for streaming but you can aslo have it just record your screen, and you can ALSO set it to record a specific screen. In my case, it only recorded Krita. That way I can go back and forth between switching songs on YouTube but OBS continues to record only Krita.

Oh, so, back to the story, SO, downloading Krita 4.0 did not help, so I ended up uninstalling and re-installing my tablet driver. Which, fixed the problem. So, if anyone runs into that problem I suggest trying that first. Just uninstall your tablet and re-install.

And one OTHER problem I just realized, I didn't have my resolution set the way I like it in Krita so I can see the quality of my comic is a little fuzzy 😔. Fortinutely it's still legible. I don't know if there's a way to change that after it's already drawn out. If anyone knows, well....let me know 😃. My use of Krita is all trial and error, which you may be able to see in the time lapse video.
 

And I present to you! The short comic of Alien Bob!

 

Here's my attempted time lapse video. It was edited in Davinci Resolve (which is free). I was running short on time finding royalty free music. The music in this is from sounddotcom.com. I used the same music over and over so if that gets annoying just turn the sound off haha.

Here's a few process sketches!
 

 


 

 

 
 
 

You can check out my last post, an acrylic painting with some acrylic painting advice here

 
 
 

Thanks for looking 😁

Sort:  

oh you're so good at using krita! I barely know how to use the layers xD.
So we've just got the civilized aliens so far, not until Bob comes is when we see all his.... art xD

Hahaha that is very baffling indeed! 😂

Weee loved all the panels and wips, it was funny and I enjoy the pencil idea doodles. You got curied too, congrats !!! Deserved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48