Is Steemit.com getting Denial of Service Attacked?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago

I couldn't open Steemit, and as I type I can only load basic HTML!

For an hourish, maybe less I've been trying to log in to Steemit to verify something for Sauna. Every time I tried I got a 504 error. The whole time though my communications with a Steem network node were just fine. It seems to me like it's just a problem with the Steemit.com website. I even checked isitdownrightnow.com and it said it's not just me. That leads me to believe steemit.com is really down. Could be internal I guess.

Anyone else experiencing networking issues with Steemit.com?

Sort:  

Yes, yes they are. They made a blog post about it. This is why we should all have logins on multiple platforms. Just switch when one is having issues.

I suspect it was the same event @crypto.piotr.

I wonder a lot about this, like what were the motivations of the attackers? Did they have ill intent toward Steem, or just Steemit? Both seem plausible, since Steemit is the most used frontend these days I believe. To many they mean the same thing. Could've just been for the fun of it too.

Exciting times.

Thanks for your comment @a-non-e-moose

I only with that I would check if other front-ends (like Steempeak.com) do work at that time. I can only assume that problem was with Steemit.com and not so much with STEEM blockchain.

Cheers
Piotr

Oh yes, I realize only Steemit.com was affected. Like I said in my post, my Steem frontend pet project had no problem getting data directly from the network during the attack.

I meant more to muse on the (admittedly inscrutable) why behind this technological aggression.

Thanks for your comments @crypto.piotr ;)

Dear @a-non-e-moose

Thank you for being always so responsive and supportive. I realized that you have very little SP so I decided to delegate 40SP to you. Hope it will help you engage with people.

Yours
Piotr

Thanks @crypto.piotr!

I'm not sure if you remember, but I actually declined your offer for this delegation once in the past. No chance for my courtesy to stay your hand if you take the initiative like this though!

In any case I greatly appreciate the support, and I'll definitely put it to good use.

Feel free to withdraw your delegation at any time for any reason.

cool @a-non-e-moose :)

now once I delegated little bit to you, I will surely not ask again if you need my support with delegation.

yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05