Is a service like this ethical in your opinion?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago


I get that we are in the early days of web 3.0 and in order to gain traction a bit of "commotion" may need to be manufactured in the name of "promotion," but if the highest goal really is to add true value to the platform, are little games like this really a step in the right direction?

Please leave your thoughts in the comments section. I'm new to the platform and still eager to figure out what are and are not appropriate behaviors.

Thank you,

@abhaya504

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Rather than concentrate on the ethics, consider whether your own ethics allow you to use these services. For a year I have not and all that happened is that I did not make money and my Rep stayed low.

From the largest posters to the smallest, the majority are using them now. A point, some of the wealthiest members are providing the service, so that is a good hint that their servive is making them lots of money. So, if you start, choose carefully, for the ROI is anywhere from anegative number up to 15%.

A post was recently made and I still have the tab open on my browser, so here is the link, in case you want to learn more:

https://steemit.com/adsactly/@julisavio/caution-when-using-bid-bot-it-s-not-luck-it-s-statistics

Really interesting. I'm not sure if I'm personally okay with it or not—may try a bot out on one post for experience, but probably wouldn't make a habit of it.

I'm a very simple, transparent person, so it definitely strikes me as odd that there always seems to be the use of "performance enhancing" anything in everything where there's a sense of "competition."

I realize that our reality isn't fair, but I can't shake the idea that there has to be a way to establish a democratized platform such as this with the elimination of gaming of the system in mind. It's not like it's not entirely predictable.

I'm in the early stages of working on a blockchain social venture, and this topic has been top of mind in the project scope. I really want to decouple the user's "influence" from their holdings on the platform while encouraging and rewarding desired behavior while discouraging undesirable behaviors in a democratized fashion.

It's a bit of a head scratcher, but worth the additional thinking in my opinion.

Let us say I write the novel of the century.

I want everyone to buy it only because it is so great.

Being such a wonderful book, it will probably start to be read by enough people to earn you something, by the time you are close to dying of old age. So, what do you do? You either work with Amazon or you find a publisher - for them to advertise and promote your novel. Does it make you feel dirty? I suspect it does not, because we are used to it being done that way.

All the authors who have gone on to write book after book (like Anne McCaffrey) how could I have heard of her and why would she write so many wonderful stories if she had to concentrate on hoping her first book sells enough to justify her spending more time on ot?

BTW, are you under the impression these bots make you money? Even the best of them does not earn you more than a 15% ROI, but, how about that marvellous deduction of 25% (maybe soon to be pushed to 50%) for curators?

Think of a good bot as being one that helps to promote you, make you better known and help give a small boost to your Rep, as being an advertising cost.

The sad truth? People see your post with 7 upvotes totalling 6c. If they want to be kind, feel like Santa, maybe they adjust their voting power so as to give you a 1c upvote. However, if they see you have 136 votes of $8.62, they wonder, are you that good? So they read, and if you are good, they give you a better (and more honest) upvote.

Your choice....
:)

You sir are a scholar and a gentleman!

That analogy landed it in my mind! I'm going to give it a shot when I feel I have a piece of OC worth promoting and we'll take it from there!

Thanks.

I use (@)smartmarket. They are pretty steady in the return and without having to give large amounts of Steem, I get from 80 votes and up, which is okay, as I get nearly all the money back.

The trouble is, as an example:

You send Steem 1
You get back (pretend you get it all, for ease of calculation) 1 - BUT
you actually get the money split, half in Steem and half in SP. You can only use Steem for paying for the next one....I guess you can see how you quickly run out of steem (and steam).

I see. I'll use your recommendation once I finish this post I've been working on. If I run into any issues would you be willing to lend a bit more of a hand? I'm truly grateful for the attention you've given thus far!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure - just ask
:)

Congratulations @abhaya504! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @abhaya504! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86